This website will be unavailable from Thursday, May 30, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. through Monday, June 3, 2024 at 7:00 a.m. due to data center maintenance.




Wednesday, February 24, 2021

9:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Wednesday, February 24, 2021, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Jane Nelson, Chair



Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr., Vice Chair



Senator Paul Bettencourt



Senator Dawn Buckingham



Senator Donna Campbell



Senator Brandon Creighton



Senator Kelly Hancock



Senator Joan Huffman



Senator Lois Kolkhorst



Senator Robert Nichols



Senator Charles Perry



Senator Charles Schwertner



Senator Larry Taylor



Senator Royce West



Senator John Whitmire






The chair called the meeting to order at 9:05 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The chair made opening remarks.


Senator Nelson laid out SB 1. Testimony was heard on SB 1 – Article III. Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list.


Texas Tech System Administration

·         Texas Tech University

·         Angelo State University

Texas Tech Health Science Centers

·         Texas Tech Health Sciences Center

·         Texas Tech Health Sciences Center at El Paso

Baylor College of Medicine

University of Houston System Administration, University of Houston and University of Houston College of Medicine

·         University of Houston – Downtown

·         University of Houston – Clear Lake

Texas State Technical College System


Senator Lucio assumed the chair.


Senator Nelson resumed the chair.


Public Community/Junior Colleges

The University of Texas System Administration

·         The University of Texas – Arlington

·         The University of Texas – Austin

·         The University of Texas – Dallas

·         The University of Texas – El Paso

·         The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley/RGV School of Medicine

·         The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

·         The University of Texas at San Antonio

·         The University of Texas at Tyler/Health Science Center at Tyler

·         The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

·         The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

·         The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston  

·         The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

·         The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

·         LBB Presentation on Special Provisions Relating Only to Higher Educaton and Components of Texas State Technical College


Public testimony was heard.


The chair closed testimony on Article III.


Senator Nelson moved that SB 1 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.


There being no further business, at 4:55 PM Senator Nelson moved that the Committee stand recessed until Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 9:00 AM. Without objection, it was so ordered.








Senator Jane Nelson, Chair





Stephanie Hoover, Clerk