This website will be unavailable from Thursday, May 30, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. through Monday, June 3, 2024 at 7:00 a.m. due to data center maintenance.




Monday, March 8, 2021

10:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Monday, March 8, 2021, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Jane Nelson, Chair


Senator Dawn Buckingham

Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr., Vice Chair


Senator Brandon Creighton

Senator Paul Bettencourt


Senator Kelly Hancock

Senator Donna Campbell


Senator Lois Kolkhorst

Senator Joan Huffman


Senator Charles Perry

Senator Robert Nichols



Senator Charles Schwertner



Senator Larry Taylor



Senator Royce West



Senator John Whitmire




















The chair called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The chair made opening remarks.


Senator Nelson laid out SB 1.  Testimony was heard on SB 1 Article IX.  Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list.


Testimony was heard.


The chair closed testimony on Article IX.


Senator Nelson moved that SB 1 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.


Senator Nelson announced the following workgroups:


Articles I, IV and V:

Senator Huffman, Chair

Senator Campbell

Senator Schwertner

Senator Whitmire


Article II:

Senator Kolkhorst, Chair

Senator Buckingham

Senator Lucio

Senator Schwertner


Article III, Public Education

Senator Taylor, Chair

Senator Bettencourt

Senator Lucio

Senator Perry


Article III, Higher Education

Senator Creighton, Chair

Senator Bettencourt

Senator Buckingham

Senator West


Articles VI, VII and VIII

Senator Nichols, Chair

Senator Hancock

Senator Perry

Senator Whitmire


There being no further business, at 10:20 AM Senator Nelson moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.









Senator Jane Nelson, Chair




Stephanie Hoover, Clerk