Tuesday, January 26, 2021

9:00 AM

Senate Chamber




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting, Special was held on Tuesday, January 26, 2021, in the Senate Chamber.







Senator Joan Huffman, Chair

Senator Juan Hinojosa, Vice Chair

Senator Carol Alvarado

Senator Brian Birdwell



Senator Dawn Buckingham



Senator Donna Campbell



Senator Kelly Hancock



Senator Bryan Hughes



Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.



Senator Robert Nichols



Senator Angela Paxton



Senator Charles Perry



Senator Royce West



Senator John Whitmire






The chair called the meeting to order at 9:01 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The following committee members attended/participated via videoconference:

Senator Paul Bettencourt

Senator Nathan Johnson

Senator JosÚ MenÚndez


The following non-committee members attended/participated in-person:

Senator Judith Zaffirini

Senator Drew Springer

Senator Lois Kolkhorst


Dr. Lloyd Potter, Texas Demographer provided invited testimony.


The following witnesses provided public testimony via videoconferencing (see attached witness list).


At 10:20 AM Senator Huffman moved that the Committee stand recessed.


At 10:37 AM Senator Huffman reconvened the meeting.


The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.


There being no further business, at 11:14 AM Senator Huffman moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.






Senator Joan Huffman, Chair




Koy Kunkel, Clerk