MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, March 8, 2021 1:30 PM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, March 8, 2021, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Drew Springer

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair Senator Angela Paxton, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Roland Gutierrez Senator Borris Miles Senator Kel Seliger

MEMBERS ABSENT: Senator Bryan Hughes

The chair called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Alvarado, Senator Eckhardt, Senator Gutierrez, and Senator Springer.

Senator Paxton moved adoption of the committee rules. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Buckingham recognized Senator Birdwell to introduce his constituent Darren Yancy, who has been nominated to serve on the Brazos River Authority Board of Directors.

Senator Buckingham, on behalf of Senator Schwertner, introduced Thomas Oates, who has been re-nominated to the Texas Animal Health Commission.

Mr. Yancy made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Buckingham, Senator Alvarado, Senator Gutierrez, and Senator Eckhardt. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Buckingham recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce two of her constituents. Jessica Barta, who has been re-nominated as the Injured Employee Public Counsel, and Macy Douglas, was has been nominated, by Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar, to serve as the Administrator of the Texas Bullion Depository.

Mrs. Barta made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Mrs. Douglas made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Buckingham, Senator Seliger, Vice-Chair Paxton, Senator Eckhardt, Senator Gutierrez, and Senator Springer. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Oates made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Buckingham, Senator Springer, and Senator Miles. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Buckingham announced that the nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 2:35 p.m., Vice-Chair Paxton moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair

Robert Haley, Committee Director