#### MINUTES

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, March 29, 2021 9:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, March 29, 2021, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Angela Paxton, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Roland Gutierrez

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair

Senator Borris Miles

Senator Kel Seliger

Senator Drew Springer

Senator Bryan Hughes

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Vice-Chair Paxton

Senator Miles

Senator Springer

Senator Alvarado moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on March 22, 2021; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Eckhardt moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Public Safety Commission, State Board of Education, Chair, Texas

# Senate Committee on Nominations Minutes Monday, March 29, 2021

Page 2

Transportation Commission, Texas State Technical College System Board of Regents, School Land Board, Adjutant General of Texas, Board of Pardons and Paroles, Board of Pilot Commissioners for Galveston County Ports, Board for Lease of Texas Department of Criminal Justice Lands, Board for Lease of Texas Parks and Wildlife Lands, Brazos County Regional Mobility Authority, Cameron County Regional Mobility Authority, Cancer Prevention and Research Institute Oversight Committee, Commission on State Emergency Communications, Finance Commission of Texas, Grayson County Regional Mobility Authority, Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission, Hidalgo County Regional Mobility Authority, Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision, Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners, Justice of the Fourth Court of Appeals, Place 7, Lower Neches Valley Authority Board of Directors, North Texas Tollway Authority Board of Directors, Parks and Wildlife Commission, Sulphur River Regional Mobility Authority, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Farm and Ranch Lands Conservation Council, Texas Lottery Commission, Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission, Texas Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors, Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists, Texas State Library and Archives Commission, Texas Transportation Commission, Texas Veterans Commission, University of Houston System Board of Regents, University of North Texas System Board of Regents, Webb County—City of Laredo Regional Mobility Authority. The motion carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Miles and Senator Paxton both submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection; it was so ordered.

Senator Zaffirini was recognized to introduce Commissioner Cassandra Brown, appointed as the Commissioner of the Workers' Compensation Division, Texas Department of Insurance.

Chair Buckingham, on behalf of Senator Schwertner, introduced Commissioner Jaime Masters, appointed as the Commissioner of the Department of Family and Protective Services.

Chair Buckingham, on behalf of Senator Perry, introduced Victoria Whitehead, appointed to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. Senator Seliger offered comments of support.

Senator Nichols was recognized to introduce Michael Neill, appointed to the School Land Board.

Commissioner Masters made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Vice-Chair Paxton, and Senator Miles. No public testimony was offered.

### **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, March 29, 2021 Page 3

Commissioner Brown made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Senator Seliger. Public testimony was submitted electronically to the committee.

Mrs. Whitehead made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered. Senator Perry offered comments of support.

Mr. Neill made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Buckingham announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees, on the posted agenda, would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 9:53 a.m., Senator Miles moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Dawn Buckingham M.D., Chair	
Schator Dawn Duckingham W.D., Chan	
George Moore, Committee Clerk	