MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, April 19, 2021 12:45 PM Capitol Extension, Room E1.012

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, April 19, 2021, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Drew Springer

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair Senator Angela Paxton, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Roland Gutierrez Senator Borris Miles Senator Kel Seliger Senator Bryan Hughes

The chair called the meeting to order at 12:45 p.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Alvarado Senator Miles

Vice-Chair Paxton moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearings held on April 12, 2021, and April 15, 2021; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Eckhardt moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Public Utility Commission of Texas, Red River Compact Commission, State Commission on Judicial Conduct, Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs, Texas

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 19, 2021 Page 2

State Board of Acupuncture Examiners, Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors, and the University of Texas System Board of Regents. The motion carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Miles and Senator Alvarado both submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote.

Senator Zaffirini was recognized to introduce Commissioner Robert Janecka, appointed to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality.

Senator Schwertner was recognized to introduce Chairman Bryan Daniel, appointed to the Texas Workforce Commission.

Senator Eckhardt was recognized to introduce Bobby Jenkins, reappointed to the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority.

Senator Campbell was recognized to introduce Commissioner Aaron Demerson, reappointed to the Texas Workforce Commission.

Senator Eckhardt was recognized to introduce Executive Commissioner Cecile Young, reappointed as the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission.

Senator Eckhardt was recognized to introduce Lori Cobos, reappointed as the Chief Executive and Public Counsel of the Office of Public Utility Counsel.

Chair Buckingham, on behalf of Senator Menendez, introduced Gloria Canseco, appointed to the Texas Behavioral Health Executive Council.

Vice-Chair Paxton assumed the chair and recognized Chair Buckingham to introduced her constituent Melissa Tyroch, appointed to the State Securities Board.

Mrs. Tyroch made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Vice-Chair Paxton returned the gavel to Chair Buckingham, who then resumed the chair.

Mrs. Canseco made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham and Vice-Chair Paxton. No public testimony was offered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 19, 2021

Page 3

Mr. Jenkins made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following

member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Mrs. Cobos made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following

members: Chair Buckingham, Senator Alvarado, and Vice-Chair Paxton. No public testimony

was offered.

Executive Commissioner Young made an opening statement. Questions and comments were

offered by the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Commissioner Janecka made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by

the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Chairman Daniel made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the

following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Commissioner Demerson made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by

the following member: Chair Buckingham. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Buckingham announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees, on the posted

agenda, would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 2:06 p.m., Vice-Chair Paxton moved that the committee stand

recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

enator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair	
eorge Moore, Clerk	