#### **MINUTES**

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, May 3, 2021 9:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.012

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 3, 2021, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Senator Drew Springer

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair Senator Angela Paxton, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Roland Gutierrez Senator Borris Miles Senator Kel Seliger Senator Bryan Hughes

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Roland Gutierrez Senator Borris Miles

Senator Paxton moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on April 26, 2021; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Alvarado moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Commission on Jail Standards, Texas Board of Criminal Justice, San

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, May 3, 2021 Page 2

Jacinto River Authority Board of Directors, Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners, Board of Directors of the State Bar of Texas, Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Parks and Wildlife Commission, Rio Grande Compact Commission, State Board of Dental Examiners, State Securities Board, Texas Board of Architectural Examiners, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, Texas Board of Respiratory Care, Texas Commission on Fire Protection, Texas Industrialized Building Code Council, Texas Municipal Retirement System Board of Trustees, Texas Public Finance Authority, and Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors. The motion carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Miles submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Campbell was recognized to introduce Sylvia Kauffman, re-appointed as the Inspector General for Health and Human Services.

Senator Powell was recognized to introduce Cody Campbell, appointed to the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents.

Senator Blanco was recognized to introduce Emma Schwartz, appointed to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Senator Paxton was recognized to introduce Dr. Mary Sias, re-appointed to the Texas Southern University Board of Regents.

Senator Eckhardt was recognized to introduce Steve Hicks, re-appointed to the University of Texas System Board of Regents.

Chair Buckingham, on behalf of Senator Nelson, introduced Robert Albritton, re-appointed to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents,

Mr. Albritton made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Senator Springer, and Senator Seliger.

Mrs. Schwartz made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Vice-Chair Paxton, Senator Miles, and Senator Springer.

**Senate Committee on Nominations** 

Minutes Monday, May 3, 2021

Page 3

Inspector General Kauffman made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Vice-Chair Paxton, and Senator Miles.

Dr. Sias made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Vice-Chair Paxton, Senator Miles, Senator Alvarado, and Senator Seliger.

Mr. Campbell made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Senator Springer, Senator Gutierrez, Senator Miles, and Vice-Chair Paxton.

Mr. Hicks made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Buckingham, Senator Alvarado, and Senator Miles.

Chair Buckingham announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees, on the posted agenda, would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 10:37 a.m., Senator Miles moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair	
George Moore, Clerk	