#### MINUTES

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, May 17, 2021 12:45 PM Capitol Extension, Room E1.012

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 17, 2021, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Senator Dawn Buckingham, Chair Senator Angela Paxton, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Roland Gutierrez Senator Drew Springer

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Borris Miles Senator Kel Seliger

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 12:45 p.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Senator Paxton moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on May 3, 2021; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Gutierrez moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Inspector General for Health and Human Services, Texas Southern University Board of Regents, Texas Tech University System Board of Regents, Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, University of Texas System Board of Regents, Angelina and Neches River Authority Board of Directors, Board of Directors of the State Bar of Texas (Supreme Court of Texas Appointee), Commission on Jail Standards, Correctional Managed Health Care Committee, Governing Board of the Texas Civil Commitment Office, Nonresident Violator Compact Administrator, Product Development and Small Business Incubator Board, San Jacinto River Authority Board of Directors, Texas

# Senate Committee on Nominations Minutes Monday, May 17, 2021

Page 2

Board of Criminal Justice, Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs, Texas Facilities Commission, Texas State Board of Acupuncture Examiners, and Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 3 absent.

Senator Alvarado moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Finance Commission of Texas, Governing Board of the Texas School for the Deaf, Lower Colorado River Authority, Nueces River Authority Board of Directors, Prepaid Higher Education Tuition Board, Real Estate Research Advisory Committee, State Board for Educator Certification, State Board of Dental Examiners, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, State Employee Charitable Campaign Policy Committee, Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Texas Board of Medical Radiologic Technology, Texas Board of Nursing, Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs, Texas Diabetes Council, Texas Funeral Service Commission, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Texas Historical Commission, Texas Optometry Board, Texas Physician Assistant Board, Texas Public Finance Authority, Texas Southern University Board of Regents, Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners, Texas Tech University System Board of Regents, Texas Woman's University Board of Regents, and University of Texas System Board of Regents. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 3 absent.

There being no further business, at 12:48 p.m., Senator Springer moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

\_\_\_\_

Senator Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chair

George Moore, Clerk