MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Wednesday, August 11, 2021 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Wednesday, August 11, 2021, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Angela Paxton, Vice Chair Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Drew Springer

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Roland Gutierrez Senator Borris Miles Senator Kel Seliger

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m. There not being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Chair Campbell, on behalf of Senator Huffman, introduced Commissioner Jimmy Glotfelty, appointed to the Public Utility Commission of Texas, to the committee.

Commissioner Glotfelty made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Paxton, Senator Springer, Senator Perry, and Senator Eckhardt. No public testimony was offered.

A quorum was established at 8:20 a.m., and the roll was called at 8:43 a.m.

Vice-Chair Paxton moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: 169th Judicial District Court, Bell County, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Court of Appeals for the Tenth Court of Appeals District, Criminal District Attorney, Eastland County, Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority Board of Directors, Lavaca-Navidad River Authority, Public Utility Commission of Texas, Texas Board of Architectural Examiners, and Texas State Library and Archives Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 4 absent.

There being no further business, at 8:45 a.m., Vice-Chair Paxton moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Donna Campbell, M.D., Chair

Robert Haley, Clerk