MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Thursday, November 17, 2022 10:00 AM Senate Chamber

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources & Economic Development was held on Thursday, November 17, 2022, in the Senate Chamber.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Judith Zaffirini, Vice Chair Senator Kelly Hancock Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. Senator Kel Seliger

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Juan Hinojosa Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Lois Kolkhorst

The chair called the meeting to order at 10:04 AM. The following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Eddie Lucio Jr., Kel Seliger, Kelly Hancock

A quorum being present at 10:25 AM.

The Chair laid out the following Committee charge:

• Economic Development Programs: Review the programs in Chapters 380 and 381 of the Local Government Code. Consider the benefits of each program in generating economic development. Make recommendations for improvements to Chapters 380 and 381 to increase transparency and accountability and the effectiveness of the programs.

The following individuals provided invited testimony (See attached witness list).

Senate Committee on Natural Resources & Economic Development

Minutes Thursday, November 17, 2022 Page 2

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Will Counihan, Director, Data Analysis and Transparency Division

Texas Taxpayer and Research Association Dale Craymer, President

Texas Municipal League
Bennett Sandlin, Executive Director

County Judges and Commissioners Association of Texas Rick Bailey, Johnson County Commissioner, Pct. 1

Texas Economic Development Council Carlton Schwab, President and CEO

Witnesses testifying and registering on the charge are shown on the attached list.

• Hotel Occupancy Taxes: Study the collection and use of hotel occupancy taxes. Evaluate and make recommendations related to the effectiveness, costs of rebates, incentives, and other taxes applied to qualified hotel and convention center projects. Investigate and determine whether the creation of a standard Hotel Occupancy Tax legislative template is feasible, and whether it would enable the legislature to more efficiently evaluate proposed Hotel Occupancy Tax bills during the legislative session.

The following individuals provided invited testimony (See attached witness list).

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Lara Abi Habib, Coordinator, Tax Policy Division
Will Counihan, Director, Data Analysis and Transparency Division

Texas Travel Alliance Erika Boyd, President and CEO

Texas Hotel and Lodging Association Justin Bragiel, General Counsel

Witnesses testifying and registering on the charge are shown on the attached list.

Senate Committee on Natural Resources & Economic Development

Minutes Thursday, November 17, 2022 Page 3

• Monitoring: Monitor the implementation of legislation addressed by the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development passed by the 87th Legislature, as well as relevant agencies and programs under the committee's jurisdiction. Specifically, make recommendations for any legislation needed to improve, enhance, or complete implementation of the following:

Senate Bill 13, Relating to state contracts with and investments in certain companies that boycott energy companies.

The following individuals provided invited testimony (See attached witness list).

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Mike Reissig, CEO Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Co.
Whitney Blanton, General Counsel, Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Co.

At 1:17 PM Senator Zaffirini assumed the chair.

At 1:28 PM Senator Birdwell resumed the chair.

Employee Retirement System of Texas Porter Wilson, Executive Director

Teacher Retirement System of Texas

Jase Auby, Chief Investment Officer

Brian Guthrie, Executive Director

Texas Municipal Retirement System
Dave Hunter, Chief Investment Officer

Texas Emergency Services Retirement System
Tiffany White, Executive Director

Texas County and District Retirement System Ann McGeehan, General Counsel

General Land Office
Mark Havens, Chief Clerk and Deputy Land Commissioner

Texas Education Agency/ Texas Permanent School Fund Corp.

John McGeady, Director of Government Relations, TPSFCO

Witnesses testifying and registering on the charge are shown on the attached list.

Senate Committee on Natural Resources & Economic Development

Minutes Thursday, November 17, 2022 Page 4

There being no further business, at 2:28 PM Senator Birdwell moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

David Estrada, Clerk	