MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON WATER, AGRICULTURE & RURAL AFFAIRS

Tuesday, May 10, 2022 9:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.012

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Water, Agriculture & Rural Affairs was held on Tuesday, May 10, 2022, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Charles Perry, Chair Senator Drew Springer, Vice Chair Senator Brandon Creighton Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Roland Gutierrez Senator Nathan Johnson Senator Lois Kolkhorst Senator Beverly Powell Senator Larry Taylor

None

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:03 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Lois Kolkhorst Senator Brandon Creighton Senator Roland Gutierrez

Senate Committee on Water, Agriculture & Rural Affairs

Minutes Tuesday, May 10, 2022 Page 2

The chair made opening remarks. The committee heard invited and public testimony on the following interim charges:

Water Utility Infrastructure: evaluate the state's water infrastructure. Study and make recommendations on options to upgrade and update water infrastructure to address deferred maintenance, disasters, and water loss.

Water Supply: review and make recommendations to complete specific projects identified in the 2022 State Water Plan. In light of recent global changes to the global economy, consider the current regulatory process regarding innovative technology solutions to water supply needs, such as marine desalination, and make recommendations for their improvement.

Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list. The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered. There being no further business, at 2:28 PM Senator Perry moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Charles Perry, Chair	
Lauren Murray, Clerk	