H.R. No. 14

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Roel A. and Celia R. Saenz Elementary in Roma has
- 2 been named a 2023 National Blue Ribbon School, one of the most
- 3 prestigious designations an elementary or secondary school in the
- 4 United States can receive; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created
- 6 by the U.S. Department of Education in 1982 to recognize campuses
- 7 that have demonstrated superior academic performance or made
- 8 notable progress in improving outcomes among economically
- 9 disadvantaged students; Saenz Elementary was one of only 353 public
- 10 and private schools nationwide and 29 schools in Texas to have
- 11 earned this impressive honor in 2023; and
- WHEREAS, In 2008, Saenz Elementary School opened its doors to
- 13 the Roma-Los Saenz community, and today it serves more than 500
- 14 students in prekindergarten through the fifth grade; under the
- 15 direction of principal Odette E. Garcia, the school is committed to
- 16 providing a rigorous curriculum to encourage students to reach
- 17 their maximum potential; and
- WHEREAS, Through hard work and perseverance, the teachers and
- 19 students of Roel A. and Celia R. Saenz Elementary School have
- 20 established a record of scholastic excellence, and their
- 21 outstanding efforts have been duly recognized with the Blue Ribbon
- 22 School award; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 24 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Roel A. and

H.R. No. 14

- 1 Celia R. Saenz Elementary on its selection as a 2023 National Blue
- 2 Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education and extend to all
- 3 those involved with the school sincere best wishes for the future;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Saenz Elementary as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 14

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 14 was adopted by the House on November 1, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House