SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 62

WHEREAS, The prosperity of the Lone Star State has been greatly influenced by family farming and ranching, and Helen Bourquin Hawes and Dwain C. Hawes of Medina County have been officially recognized as heirs to this proud tradition with the acceptance of the DCH Ranch into the state's Family Land Heritage Program in 2023; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Texas Department of Agriculture, this program honors farms and ranches that have been in continuous agricultural operation by the same family for a century or more; and

WHEREAS, A native of Castroville, Albert Bourquin purchased 200 acres of land in 1878, and he acquired an additional 320 acres two years later; he and his family made their home on the ranch, where they initially raised cattle, hogs, and chickens as well as corn and maize; over the years, the property was passed down to his children and their descendants, and today, DCH Ranch is owned and operated by Mr. Bourquin's great-granddaughter, Helen Bourquin Hawes, and her husband, Dwain; located just 12 miles northeast of Castroville, the ranch currently produces cattle, coastal hay, and Sudan grazer; and

WHEREAS, In preserving their property as a working ranch, Helen Bourquin Hawes and Dwain Hawes are making their own contribution to their family's legacy, and it is indeed fitting that they be honored for their outstanding stewardship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Helen Bourquin Hawes and Dwain C. Hawes on the induction of the DCH Ranch into the Texas Department of Agriculture Family Land Heritage Program and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Bourquin Hawes family as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Flores

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on October 31, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate