WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  recognize Golden Soror Debra Bourgeois, a 50-year member of Alpha
  Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, who is being honored by
  Omicron Mu Omega Chapter at its Founders' Day Luncheon on January
  28, 2024; and
         WHEREAS, Omicron Mu Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha
  Sorority was conceived in October of 1983 by five sorors who met to
  discuss the formation of a second graduate chapter in the Dallas
  area; after much dedicated effort, the chapter was established on
  June 23, 1984; it has an illustrious history of service and
  community work, and it annually recognizes long-standing sorority
  members at its Founders' Day Luncheon; and
         WHEREAS, Debra Bourgeois was inducted into the Beta
  Upsilon Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority at Dillard
  University in New Orleans in 1974, and she later joined the
  Omicron Mu Omega Chapter of the sorority; over the years, she has
  remained a loyal member of the sorority and has served as a mentor
  and role model to countless sisters; and
         WHEREAS, Debra is truly deserving of recognition for her
  longtime membership in and service to Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority
  and for the important role she has played in helping to encourage
  leadership, scholarship, personal development, and community
  service through the programs of Omicron Mu Omega Chapter; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th
  Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend Golden Soror
  Debra Bourgeois on her dedicated service and her many
  achievements and extend to her congratulations on being honored
  by Omicron Mu Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority at its
  2024 Founders' Day Luncheon; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on November 21, 2023.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate