SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 15

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Vietnam War veteran James Baylor, who is being presented with the Bronze Star by the United States Army and the National Rakkasan Association, 187th Infantry Regiment; and

WHEREAS, James Baylor was awarded the Bronze Star more than five decades ago for his meritorious service in the United States Army during the Vietnam War; and

WHEREAS, A man of exceptional courage, determination, and patriotic spirit, James demonstrated tremendous heroism and dedication to duty during the Battle of Hamburger Hill in May of 1969 in Southern Vietnam's A Shau Valley; and

WHEREAS, On November 19, 2023, the City of DeSoto will hold a ceremony in James Baylor's honor, where he will be presented with the Bronze Star with a V device for Valor, one of our nation's highest individual military decorations for valor; and

WHEREAS, He will also be awarded the Purple Heart for the battle wounds he sustained and will receive the Presidential Unit Citation, the nation's highest award for valorous actions taken by a unit in combat; in addition, Mr. Baylor will be honored with numerous individual and unit awards, badges, and ribbons for his exemplary military service; and

WHEREAS, After 54 years, it is truly fitting that a ceremony be held in honor of this distinguished veteran and treasured DeSoto resident and that he receive special recognition for his courageous and heroic actions in the line of duty; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby pay tribute to James Baylor for his honorable and selfless service and extend to him eternal gratitude for his contributions to the liberty and security of our nation; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on November 9, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate