By: Zaffirini

S.R. No. 23

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the participants, organizers, and attendees of the 15th annual Larry Turner Classic Wheelchair Basketball Tournament, which was held on October 7 and 8, 2023, at the Texas State University Jowers Center in San Marcos; and

WHEREAS, The Larry Turner Classic is a popular community event sanctioned by the National Wheelchair Basketball Association that serves the adaptive sports community in the Lone Star State; tournament participants include many local community members and veterans, and each year, the participating athletes visit Texas State University to compete in Championship, Division III, and Juniors Divisions; and

WHEREAS, Organized with the support of Texas State University faculty from such disciplines as recreational therapy, exercise sports science, athletic training, and physical education in partnership with the Research for Adaptive and Inclusive Sport and Exercise Initiative, the classic is coordinated with the assistance of student volunteers from the university's graduate and undergraduate programs and included 20 teams and 250 athletes who took part in the event; and

WHEREAS, Tournament participants exhibited tremendous discipline and exceptional teamwork throughout the competition, and these extraordinary athletes can be justifiably proud of

1

their impressive skills and their fine sportsmanship; it is indeed fitting that these treasured Texans receive special recognition on their perseverance and dedication and on their outstanding performance at the classic; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 23

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend the stellar athletes, coaches, and supporters of the Larry Turner Classic Wheelchair Basketball Tournament and extend to all participants best wishes for success in all of their endeavors; and, be it further,

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

2