BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center 88R19726 KSM-F

C.S.S.C.R. 13
By: West
Natural Resources & Economic Development
4/3/2023
Committee Report (Substituted)

AUTHOR'S / SPONSOR'S STATEMENT OF INTENT

The Texas Black Reconstruction Legislators Recognition Act seeks to erect historical markers in honor of African American legislators who served the state during the 12th through 14th Texas Legislatures.

RESOLVED

That the 88th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby adopt, for the purpose of the Reconstruction Texas Legislator Historical Marker Program, the following standardized spellings, capitalizations, dates of birth, and counties of service to create the historical markers detailed in the Texas Black Reconstruction Legislators Recognition Act:

- Senator George Thompson Ruby, born July 1, 1841, died October 31, 1882, represented Galveston, Brazoria, and Matagorda Counties in the 12th and 13th Texas Legislatures
- Senator Matthew Gaines, born August 4, 1840, died June 11, 1900, represented Washington County in the 12th and 13th Texas Legislatures
- Senator Walter Moses Burton, born August 9, 1840, died June 4, 1913, represented Austin, Fort Bend, and Wharton Counties in the 14th Texas Legislature
- Representative Mitchell Kendall, born circa 1822, died June 20, 1885, represented Harrison County in the 12th Texas Legislature
- Representative Henry Moore, born circa 1810, date of death currently unknown, represented Harrison County in the 12th and 13th Texas Legislatures
- Representative Richard Allen, born June 10, 1830, died May 16, 1909, represented Harris County in the 12th and 13th Texas Legislatures
- Representative J. Goldstein DuPree, date of birth unknown, died April 1872, represented Montgomery and Harris Counties in the 12th Texas Legislature
- Representative John Mitchell, born April 1837, died April 10, 1921, represented Burleson, Brazos, and Milam Counties in the 12th and 14th Texas Legislatures
- Representative Giles Cotton, born circa 1814, died circa 1884, represented Robertson, Leon, and Freestone Counties in the 12th Texas Legislature
- Representative Sheppard "Shep" Mullens, born circa 1829, died August 7, 1871, represented McLennan, Limestone, and Falls Counties in the 12th Texas Legislature
- Representative Benjamin Franklin Williams, born 1819, died February 27, 1886, represented Lavaca and Colorado Counties in the 12th Texas Legislature
- Representative Meshack "Shack" Roberts, dates of birth and death unknown, represented Harrison County in the 13th and 14th Texas Legislatures

- Representative Henry Phelps, born circa 1829, died 1878, represented Galveston County in the 13th Texas Legislature
- Representative James H. Washington, born May 1850, died December 23, 1916, represented Galveston County in the 13th Texas Legislature
- Representative Richard Williams, born circa 1822, date of death unknown, served in the 12th and 13th Texas Legislatures
- Representative Jeremiah J. Hamilton, born July 1838, died circa 1904, represented Fayette and Bastrop Counties in the 12th Texas Legislature
- Representative Allen W. Wilder, born circa 1845, date of death unknown, elected to represent Washington County in the 13th Texas Legislature, but never seated
- Representative David Abner Sr., born 1826, died 1902, represented Rusk and Harrison Counties in the 14th Texas Legislature
- Representative Edward "Ed" Brown, born circa 1840, date of death unknown, represented Harrison and Rusk Counties in the 14th Texas Legislature
- Representative Thomas Beck, born circa 1819, date of death unknown, represented Walker, Madison, and Grimes Counties in the 14th Texas Legislature
- Representative Jacob Esan Freeman, born circa 1841, died circa 1900, represented Waller, Fort Bend, and Wharton Counties in the 14th Texas Legislature;

That the Texas Historical Commission be directed to use these standardized spellings, capitalizations, dates of birth, and counties of service for this historical marker program.

That the Texas secretary of state forward an official copy of this resolution to the executive director of the Texas Historical Commission.