WHEREAS, Texas Christian University is celebrating its
  150th anniversary in 2023; and
         WHEREAS, TCU was founded in 1873 in Thorp Spring by
  brothers Addison and Randolph Clark, ministers and teachers from
  nearby Fort Worth; they welcomed 13 students to Add-Ran Male and
  Female College, and within five years, enrollment reached 450;
  after affiliating with the Christian Church (Disciples of
  Christ), the institution became known as Add-Ran Christian
  University, and in 1895, it moved to Waco; the school soon chose a
  mascot, the horned frog, and its colors, purple and white; it
  adopted its present-day name in 1902; and
         WHEREAS, In 1910, a major fire destroyed the main
  building and badly damaged other facilities; in the wake of
  that disaster, the college accepted Fort Worth's offer of 50
  acres and $200,000 to relocate to the city; on its new campus,
  the institution flourished, and the end of World War II marked
  the beginning of a long period of significant growth; TCU
  purchased an adjoining 106-acre golf course and by 1965, it had
  added more than 25 buildings; gaining stature, it toughened
  entrance requirements, expanded advanced study offerings, and
  approved Ph.D. programs; and
         WHEREAS, TCU has continued its rise in the 21st century,
  opening the Campus Commons, including the Brown-Lupton
  University Union, and establishing the John V. Roach Honors
  College; Anne Burnett Marion School of Medicine, Fort Worth's
  M.D. school, has an enrollment of 240 and will graduate its first
  class in 2023; moreover the endowment has passed the $2 billion
  mark, and enrollment today is approximately 12,000; and
         WHEREAS, Through the years, TCU has gained a reputation for
  academic excellence, strong traditions, a vibrant student
  experience, campus culture, and Greek life, and ardent support
  for student-athletes, who have achieved high recognition; the
  Horned Frogs have been particularly dominant in baseball, making
  five College World Series appearances in the past 13 years, as
  well as in equestrian events, tennis, and women's soccer, among
  other sports; the 2022 football team became the first team in
  Texas to earn the opportunity to compete for the national
  championship in the College Football Playoff; since 2010, the TCU
  rifle team has won three national championships, and it is the
  only all-female team to win a national title in this coed sport;
  the men's basketball team has made three NCAA tournament
  appearances in the last six seasons; and
         WHEREAS, Today, TCU is a world-class, values-centered
  private university, comprised of nine schools and colleges, and
  it has a legacy of creating leaders who shape and improve the
  world for the greater good; it offers an unmatched student
  experience and academic environment to students from diverse
  backgrounds from Fort Worth, the state of Texas, and across the
  globe; and
         WHEREAS, TCU students, faculty, and staff offer valuable
  research, scholarly activity, artistic and cultural assets, a
  diverse array of talent, and significant economic benefit to the
  region and state; the rich history of Texas Christian University
  is a source of tremendous pride to its network of more than
  100,000 alumni around the world, and this outstanding
  institution is sure to continue to build on this foundation of
  excellence in the years to come; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th
  Legislature, hereby commemorate the 150th anniversary of Texas
  Christian University and extend to the TCU community sincere
  best wishes for a memorable and meaningful celebration; and,
  be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be
  prepared for the university as an expression of high regard from
  the Texas Senate.
  King, Kolkhorst
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on May 3, 2023.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate
         Member, Texas Senate