RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Duncanville High School football team reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2022 University Interscholastic League 6A Division 1 state championship on December 17 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington; and

5 WHEREAS, The title game victory closed out a historic 6 campaign in which the Panthers went undefeated, beginning their run 7 by reeling off nine victories during the regular season; after 8 claiming the District 11 championship, Duncanville rode a wave of 9 momentum into the playoffs and advanced to the program's second 10 straight state finale with wins over Bryan, Wylie, The Woodlands, 11 Spring Westfield, and Prosper High Schools; and

12 WHEREAS, In a championship battle between unbeaten teams, the Panthers matched up against Galena Park North Shore, who entered 13 14 the game ranked No. 8 in the nation by MaxPreps; Duncanville tallied two touchdowns in the early going, including a thrilling 15 16 88-yard scoring run, to go up 14-0, but the Mustangs responded, and the game was knotted at 21 at the intermission; late in the third 17 quarter, Duncanville retook the lead, punching in a touchdown on a 18 fourth down run from the nine yard line; a stout Panther defense 19 20 held strong for the remainder of the game, delivering a crucial stop 21 to force a turnover on downs with a minute remaining; when the final 22 seconds ticked off the clock, the Duncanville players and their 23 many fans celebrated a 28-21 victory and the school's second state 24 crown; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Running back Caden Durham was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player for his three-touchdown performance while 2 3 Defensive MVP Colin Simmons accounted for two sacks to bring his season total to 22.5; over the course of the team's unforgettable 4 season, the Panthers also received valuable contributions from the 5 other members of the roster: Lontrell Turner, 6 Kadavion Dotson-Walker, Dayvian Bluitt, Dakorien Moore, Elijah Wilson, 7 8 Chris Miller Jr., Eli Wallace, Kaleb Kenney, Kei' Trone Simpson, Michael January, Keelon Russell, Del'Drick Madison, Kalan Mcinnis, 9 10 La'modrick Spencer, Vernon Grant III, Tyren Polley Jr., Ayson Theus, James Adams, Nehemiah Borner, Tyderick Brown, Nick Thompson, 11 12 Quinard Choice Jr., Javion Holiday, Tamir Hunt, Cyrus Moore, JaQualon Armstrong, Cameron Burns, Sabastian Benetez, Solomon 13 14 Charles, Ronald Simmons, Dion Lewis Jr., William Glenn, Desean 15 Bryant Jr., Josiah Drake, Zahmaurixia Jones-Lewis, Noah Ponce, Jerry Scales, Jabreohn Peters, Benjamin Taylor-Whitfield, Damian 16 17 Martinez, Mason Williams, Ameer Ross, Steven Gipson, Armani Franklin, Antwone Brantley, William Carrigan, Jeffrey Manns, Zion 18 19 Henderson, Justin Vigil, Jonathan Batres, Rasheed Jackson, Cameron 20 Simon, Anton Valentine, Nathan Mccoy, Jacory Agnew, Metric Manning II, Chris Torres, Zachery Turner, Sherrod Johnson, J'Shon 21 Claycomb, Avery Brown, Tre Ossenkop Mosley, Ryan Hodge, Antwon 22 23 Brown, EJ McKinney, Donovan Harmon, Daylen Wilson, and Jameir 24 Willis; and

25 WHEREAS, The Panthers were ably guided by head coach Reginald 26 Samples and assistant coaches Ramel Borner, Todd Peterman, Xavier 27 Brown, James Mitchell, Randy Martinez, Jason Garrett, Patrick

2

Hemphill, Jeff Sowells, Charles Davis, Gabe Samuels, Xavier Joe, 1 Marcus Wilder, Antwoine Shelton, Odell James, Tray Allen, Derwin 2 3 Wilson, Justin Magazine, Ryan Polite, Myke Sisson, Anthony Wallace, and Josh Cronkite; the team further benefited from the support of 4 principal Michael McDonald and interim athletic director Kenya 5 Landers as well as athletic trainers Alec Hawkins, Paola Cabrera, 6 Richard Webster, Joe Demosthene, Janae Pullins, and Marissa Moss; 7 8 and

9 WHEREAS, In earning the state title and compiling a perfect 10 record against top competition, the Duncanville High School 11 Panthers have burnished their community's reputation as the "City 12 of Champions," and this achievement will be fondly remembered for 13 many years to come; now, therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 15 Legislature hereby congratulate the Duncanville High School 16 football team on winning the 2022 UIL 6A Division 1 state 17 championship and extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere 18 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives.

Davis

3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 36 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2023, by the following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 0, 2 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House