H.R. No. 62

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Citizens of Howard County are gathering in Austin on
 January 26, 2023, to celebrate Howard County Day at the State
 Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated on the high plains of West Texas, between 4 5 the Llano Estacado and the Edwards Plateau and at the crossroads of Interstate 20 and the Ports-to-Plains designated Interstate 27, 6 7 Howard County is a center for oil and gas production, education, health care, agriculture, transportation, manufacturing, and other 8 9 diverse industries; established in 1876, the county boasts a rich and expansive history, and today, the area is experiencing new and 10 continuing development as citizens look ahead to the opportunities 11 12 of the future; and

WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy an array of 13 14 recreational activities found in the trails and green spaces at Big Spring State Park, Comanche Trail Park, and Moss Lake, and they can 15 16 learn about Howard County's colorful past at the Heritage Museum, the Hangar 25 Air Museum, and the renovated Historic Big Spring; in 17 addition, the county hosts a number of annual events, such as the 18 Comanche Trail Festival of Lights, which has earned Big Spring 19 20 designation as the Lighted Poinsettia Capital of Texas; area 21 residents also benefit from the educational opportunities provided by Howard College and the SouthWest College for the Deaf; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Deeply devoted to their communities and to the land 24 that has shaped them, the residents of Howard County may take

1

1 justifiable pride in their efforts to preserve the area's rich 2 heritage and to cultivate a robust quality of life; now, therefore, 3 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize January 26, 2023, as Howard County Day
at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Darby

H.R. No. 62

H.R. No. 62

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 62 was adopted by the House on January 25, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House