RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Deer Park Chamber of Commerce are 2 visiting the State Capitol on January 25, 2023, providing a welcome 3 opportunity to pay tribute to this outstanding organization and the 4 city it serves; and

5 WHEREAS, Located in southeast Harris County, the area was 6 first settled in 1892 by farmer and former Illinois legislator 7 Simeon Henry West, and it was named for the abundant deer that 8 roamed the Gulf region during that time; in 1893, Mr. West built a 9 hotel and post office, and a railway station was established soon 10 after; and

11 WHEREAS, Deer Park was incorporated in 1948; in the 12 subsequent decades, the city saw significant growth, and today, it 13 is home to more than 33,000 residents; education is a key element in 14 the city's productivity, and in conjunction with the surrounding 15 communities, Deer Park has supported San Jacinto College since its 16 opening in 1961; and

WHEREAS, Visitors and residents alike enjoy a range of recreational opportunities, including a community theater and numerous parks; the city also offers such historical attractions as Patrick's Cabin, the site at which the initial treaty papers were drafted following the 1836 Battle of San Jacinto, where Texas secured its independence from Mexico; and

23 WHEREAS, Under the exceptional leadership of president Paula 24 Moorhaj, chair Ross Winkler, and the other board members, the Deer

1

Park Chamber of Commerce is a strong agent promoting economic vitality and quality of life in the region; it boasts numerous committees that are designed to provide its members with key business opportunities and improve the overall standard of living in Deer Park, and it works daily to promote community development; and

7 WHEREAS, The Deer Park Chamber of Commerce has played an 8 important role in enhancing the community's economic vitality and 9 quality of life, and all those associated with the organization may 10 take pride in their contributions to the area's prosperity; now, 11 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas Legislature hereby recognize January 25, 2023, as Deer Park Chamber of Commerce Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting delegation.

Cain

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 66 was adopted by the House on January 25, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House