H.R. No. 134

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and the 2 Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation are celebrating the 100th anniversary of Texas State Parks in 2023; and 3 WHEREAS, The Texas Legislature organized the six-member 4 5 State Parks Board in 1923 to locate sites for a state parks system; the effort was intended to create more overnight camping locations 6 7 to serve the increased number of Texans who had begun traveling by automobile; a decade later, during the Great Depression, members of 8 9 the Civilian Conservation Corps established bу President Franklin D. Roosevelt helped build facilities at parks across the 10 11 state; these included such iconic structures as the pavilion at 12 Garner State Park and the Indian Lodge at Davis Mountains State Park, both of which continue to be enjoyed by visitors today; and 13 14 WHEREAS, The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department was officially established in 1963, when Governor John Connally merged 15 16 the State Parks Board with the Game and Fish Commission; soon after, during an era known as the "Golden Age of Texas State Parks," 17 18 increased revenue streams led to the refurbishment of existing parks and the development of new ones, among which were Pedernales 19 Falls, Mustang Island, Galveston Island, and McKinney Falls State 20 21 Parks and Lost Maples State Natural Area; and WHEREAS, In 1993, Texas lawmakers dedicated a portion of 22 23 state taxes on sporting goods sales to provide stable funding for state parks, and in 2019, Texas voters passed a constitutional 24

H.R. No. 134

- 1 amendment to ensure that all funding from the sporting goods sales
- 2 tax will benefit the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and the
- 3 Texas Historical Commission; and
- WHEREAS, Today, the Texas State Parks system encompasses
- 5 481,000 acres of water sources, such as aquifers, rivers, and
- 6 reservoirs, as well as some 640,000 acres of critical habitat for
- 7 various wildlife, including more than 50 threatened and endangered
- 8 species; in addition, state parks contribute to the physical and
- 9 emotional well-being of countless Texans, and they have played an
- 10 instrumental role in the economic vitality of rural communities;
- 11 and
- 12 WHEREAS, The state parks of Texas offer ample opportunities
- 13 for outdoor recreation while helping to conserve the natural
- 14 resources of the Lone Star State, and it is a pleasure to join in
- 15 celebrating the centennial of these beloved public areas that have
- 16 been enjoyed by generations of Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of Texas State
- 19 Parks and extend to all those associated with the Texas Parks and
- 20 Wildlife Department and the Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation
- 21 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 23 for the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and the Texas Parks and
- 24 Wildlife Foundation as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives.

King of Hemphill

H.R. No. 134

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier	Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Dallas Ving of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez	Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt
Frazier Gamez	Martinez Martinez Fischer	Tinderholt Toth
Garcia	Metcalf	Troxclair
Gates Gerdes	Meyer Meza	Turner VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas González of El Paso	Morales Shaw Morrison	Wilson Wu
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	wu Zwiener
55 5 4 H 211	11011011, 01.	

	H.R. No. 134
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 134 was 8, 2023, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House