RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Jacksonville Leadership Institute 2 and the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce are gathering in Austin on 3 February 14, 2023, to celebrate Jacksonville Leadership Day at the 4 State Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, Now the largest city in Cherokee County, 6 Jacksonville was founded in 1847 along the banks of Gum Creek, and 7 it was moved to its present location in 1872 to be closer to the 8 railroad; and

9 WHEREAS, The early economy centered around agriculture, and Jacksonville was a leading center of peach production before 10 tomatoes became the primary crop; today, the Jacksonville economy 11 12 is supported by a diverse mix of industries, ranging from plastic manufacturing to major clothing shipping outlets, 13 medical 14 facilities, and more; the city is also home to the family-owned Texas Basket Company, which supplies unique handcrafted baskets 15 nationwide and celebrated its first 100 years of business in 2019; 16 and 17

WHEREAS, Education is an important part of the Jacksonville community, and the Baptist Missionary Association Theological Seminary is located there, as is Jacksonville College, one of the last remaining private junior colleges in the state; additionally, all eight campuses of the Jacksonville Independent School District have been recipients of the highest rating from the Texas Education Agency; and

1

WHEREAS, Home to numerous attractions, Jacksonville has been 1 called the Tomato Capital of the World, and it continues to 2 3 celebrate that heritage with the annual Tomato Festival; moreover, it has been recognized for creating the world's largest bowl of 4 5 salsa; the city is also the site of the Tomato Bowl football and soccer stadium, which has been in operation since 1940 and is one of 6 the last remaining downtown stadiums in Texas, as well as Love's 7 8 Lookout, a scenic park featuring breathtaking views; and

9 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy a number of 10 special events, including the Jacksonville Tomato Fest, the Nicky 11 Wheeler Memorial Bull Riding event, the Tops in Texas Rodeo, and 12 competitions at River Run ATV Park; furthermore, Lake Jacksonville 13 provides a setting for camping, boating, fishing, and other outdoor 14 activities; and

15 WHEREAS, The citizens of Jacksonville are working to preserve 16 their rich history even as they look ahead to the opportunities of 17 the future, and they may take justifiable pride in their unique 18 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, 19 be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 21 Legislature hereby recognize February 14, 2023, as Jacksonville 22 Leadership Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting 23 delegation sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay 24 in Austin.

Harris of Anderson

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 161 was adopted by the House on February 14, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House