H.R. No. 171

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Juvenile justice professionals are gathering in
- 2 Austin on February 28, 2023, for Texas Juvenile Justice
- 3 Professional Day at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, One of the most advanced juvenile justice systems in
- 5 the nation, the Texas network is composed of 165 community-based
- 6 probation departments, which serve youth and families in all 254
- 7 counties of the Lone Star State in partnership with the Texas
- 8 Juvenile Justice Department; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The juvenile probation departments handle 100
- 10 percent of the referrals of young people to the juvenile justice
- 11 system each year through the efforts of more than 8,200 certified
- 12 juvenile probation and supervision officers, and departments
- 13 continue to provide services at the local level to 98 percent of
- 14 those referrals; and
- WHEREAS, Every day, the dedicated men and women of the
- 16 juvenile justice system make a positive difference in the lives of
- 17 young Texans, helping them to embark on a better path, and in so
- 18 doing, they contribute to both the strength of their families and
- 19 the safety of our communities; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 171

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 28, 2023, as Texas Juvenile
- 3 Justice Professional Day at the State Capitol and extend to our
- 4 state's outstanding juvenile justice professionals sincere best
- 5 wishes for continued success in their important work.

Tepper Leo-Wilson Wu Lopez of Cameron

H.R. No. 171

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby OrrBailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Spiller Landgraf Cunningham Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Flores Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Morales of Harris Gervin-Hawkins Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

	H.R. NO. 1/1
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 171 was 28, 2023, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House