RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Maverick County are gathering in
Austin on February 7 and 8, 2023, to celebrate Maverick County and
Eagle Pass Days at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located in Southwest Texas, Maverick County was 4 5 formed in 1856 and named for cattleman and state legislator Samuel Augustus Maverick; the county was formally organized 15 years 6 7 later, and the county seat, Eagle Pass, was established on the Rio Grande, beginning its role as a center for travel and trade along 8 9 the Texas-Mexico border; the city was originally named El Paso del Aguila because of the frequent flights of Mexican eagles over the 10 11 area; and

12 WHEREAS, Over the years, city and county officials have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to working together to create 13 14 jobs, encourage young people, and improve the quality of life in their region of the state; civic leaders are also dedicated to the 15 effective collaboration of the public and private sectors and to 16 the administration of an economic development plan that will 17 attract and retain business, industry, and trade while increasing 18 affordable housing; the area's educational opportunities 19 are furthered by the offerings of Southwest Texas Junior College and 20 21 Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College, and plans are 22 underway to establish a comprehensive, four-year university in Eagle Pass affiliated with SRSU and the Texas State University 23 24 System; and

1

1 WHEREAS, With three international bridges, including a rail bridge, Eagle Pass and Maverick County have become an important 2 3 port of entry for international commerce; in 2021, the Port of Eagle Pass handled a record \$33.82 billion in exports and imports, making 4 5 it the eighth busiest border crossing in the U.S.; additionally, the Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas provides a significant 6 source of jobs, revenue, and tourism; visitors to the region can 7 8 also learn about area history at Fort Duncan Park and San Juan Plaza and enjoy outdoor recreation at Maverick County Lake; moreover, 9 they can stroll the streets of historic downtown Eagle Pass, which 10 has been designated as a Texas Main Street City by the Texas 11 12 Historical Commission; and

WHEREAS, Even as they celebrate their rich heritage, the hardworking people of Maverick County and Eagle Pass are looking ahead to the opportunities of the future, and they may reflect with pride on their contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 19 Legislature hereby recognize February 7 and 8, 2023, as Maverick 20 County and Eagle Pass Days at the State Capitol and extend to the 21 visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and 22 enjoyable stay in Austin.

Morales of Maverick

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 190 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House