H.R. No. 196

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Liberty County are gathering in
Austin on February 23, 2023, to celebrate Liberty County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Inhabited by Native Americans since the prehistoric 4 5 era, the area that would become Liberty County was home to the Karankawa people at the time the Spanish established a mission and 6 presidio there in the mid-1700s; settlement increased in the early 7 19th century, and Liberty County was organized in 1836 as part of 8 9 the independent Republic of Texas, with Liberty as the county seat; the county originally included all of the future Tyler County and 10 parts of what would later be Hardin, Chambers, San Jacinto, and Polk 11 12 Counties; and

WHEREAS, Situated halfway between Beaumont and Houston, Liberty County is bisected by the Trinity River and features both Coastal Prairie and Big Thicket terrain; the economy was initially driven by such crops as cotton, sugarcane, and tobacco as well as lumber and cattle, but it diversified in the early 1900s with the increased cultivation of rice and the discovery of oil and natural gas; and

20 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike benefit from the 21 recreational opportunities afforded by the Trinity River National 22 Wildlife Refuge; in addition, the county hosts a number of annual 23 events, including the Hull-Daisetta Mayhaw Festival and the Trinity 24 Valley Exposition Fair and Rodeo; and

1

## H.R. No. 196

1 WHEREAS, Liberty County is blessed with a rich history and 2 abundant natural resources, and its residents may take great pride 3 in their accomplishments as they continue to work toward an even 4 brighter future; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 6 Legislature hereby recognize February 23, 2023, as Liberty County 7 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation 8 sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Bailes

H.R. No. 196

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 196 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2023, by the following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 0, 2 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House