RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Bangladesh Day is taking place at the State Capitol 2 on February 21, 2023, providing a welcome opportunity to honor the 3 history and achievements of its people, including the thousands of 4 Bangladeshi Americans who make their homes in Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, Located in the delta of the Ganges and Brahmaputra 6 Rivers in the northeastern part of the Indian subcontinent, the 7 area that now makes up Bangladesh was part of the province of Bengal 8 during the era of British colonial rule on the Indian subcontinent, 9 from the mid-18th to mid-20th centuries; the region became part of 10 Pakistan following the partition of India in 1947; and

11 WHEREAS, In 1971, Bangladesh gained its independence, and its 12 capital was established at Dhaka; over the past half-century, the country's economy has become one of the fastest growing in the 13 14 world; new developments in agricultural practices have increased production of rice, jute, tea, and other products; moreover, the 15 16 garment industry is integral to national commerce, employing millions of people; while Bangladesh continues to grapple with many 17 of the challenges common to the developing world, expanded access 18 to health care, social services, and education have improved the 19 20 well-being of its population in recent decades; and

21 WHEREAS, Emigrants from Bangladesh have made contributions 22 to countries around the globe, and more than 185,000 Bangladeshi 23 Americans reside in the United States; Texas is home to over 11,000 24 individuals of Bangladeshi heritage, with a particularly large

1

1 community living in the Dallas-Fort Worth area; and

2 WHEREAS, Bangladeshi Americans have greatly contributed to 3 the vibrancy of the Lone Star State, and it is a pleasure to welcome 4 the visiting delegation to the Texas statehouse on this special 5 occasion; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 21, 2023, as Bangladesh Day 8 at the State Capitol and extend to all those in attendance sincere 9 best wishes for a memorable and productive stay in Austin.

> Reynolds Wu Jetton Bhojani Lalani

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 201 was adopted by the House on February 21, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House