H.R. No. 210

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The celebration of University of Houston-Downtown 2 Day at the State Capitol on March 8, 2023, provides a fitting 3 opportunity to recognize this notable institution; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1974, the University 4 of 5 Houston-Downtown has built a reputation as an inclusive, equitable, and welcoming campus; with an accessible location at the heart of 6 7 downtown Houston, it serves a student body highly representative of the vibrant community; many of the more than 14,000 Texans enrolled 8 are transfer students or older adults returning to complete 9 10 degrees; and

11 WHEREAS, *The Wall Street Journal* has named UHD the most 12 diverse school in the South; seventy percent of freshmen are 13 first-generation college students, and the university is federally 14 designated as a Hispanic-Serving Institution, a Minority-Serving 15 Institution, and a Military-Friendly School; and

16 WHEREAS, Led by its seventh president, Dr. Loren J. Blanchard, UHD offers 57 undergraduate and graduate degrees, 17 with 19 opportunities for online degree completion; two of the 18 programs are ranked among the nation's best by U.S. News & World 19 Report; the institution is acknowledged under the Carnegie 20 21 Classification system as a comprehensive, regional university and 22 has four colleges, Humanities and Social Sciences, Public Service, 23 Sciences and Technology, and the Marilyn Davies College of Business, which houses the largest MBA program in the area; over the 24

1

years, UHD has built strong business and industry partnerships, and
it is developing as an innovation hub for undergraduate researchers
and entrepreneurs; and

WHEREAS, The university ranks as one of the most affordable institutions of higher learning in the state; while providing scholars with a strong academic foundation, it fosters timely progress through degree programs so that graduates may enter their chosen fields as swiftly as possible with low student debt; UHD is also committed to civic engagement and encourages a culture of caring; and

11 WHEREAS, For nearly a half century, the University of 12 Houston-Downtown has helped area residents improve their lives and 13 gain a greater foothold in the thriving Texas economy, and it has 14 prepared its alumni to be leaders in their communities and beyond; 15 now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize March 8, 2023, as University of 18 Houston-Downtown Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome 19 to the visiting delegation.

Morales of Harris

H.R. No. 210

2

H.R. No. 210

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 210

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 210 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House