By: Patterson

H.R. No. 217

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Averie Bishop of The Colony was crowned Miss Texas
 2022 at the Eisemann Center in Richardson on June 25, 2022; and

3 WHEREAS, Ms. Bishop competed in the statewide event as Miss 4 Carrollton, and she is the first Asian American woman to win the 5 title of Miss Texas; in December 2022, she advanced to the Miss 6 America Competition and was named second runner-up, making her the 7 highest-placing Miss Texas in 15 years; and

WHEREAS, In her role as Miss Texas, Ms. Bishop travels across 8 9 the world for speaking engagements and appearances, where she addresses topics such as mental health and social media; by 10 11 advocating through her social platforms and acting as an ambassador 12 for the Texas Cares for Children program, she hopes to make every child feel at home; she is also the author of a children's book, 13 14 Miss Melody the Marigold, and all proceeds go to her nonprofit, The Tulong Foundation; and 15

is a first-generation 16 WHEREAS, Ms. Bishop law school graduate from the Southern Methodist University Dedman School of 17 Law, and she also holds a certification in finance from Harvard 18 Business School; furthermore, she is a small business owner and an 19 international nonprofit CEO, and she is the youngest committee 20 21 member of the anti-hate advisory council to Mayor Eric Johnson in Dallas; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Averie Bishop has proven herself to be a deserving 24 recipient of the Miss Texas crown, and the hard work,

1

1 determination, and perseverance that she has demonstrated in 2 attaining this goal are certain to serve her well in her future 3 endeavors; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 217

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Averie Bishop on her selection as
Miss Texas 2022 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Ms. Bishop as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

2