RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A distinguished delegation from South Texas is
visiting Austin on February 22, 2023, to celebrate Rio Grande
Valley Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Enjoying a strategic location on the Gulf of Mexico and along the Mexican border, the Rio Grande Valley was an important ranching region when Texas became the nation's 28th state in 1845; over time, the economy shifted from ranching to agriculture, and the Valley became the state's center of citrus and vegetable production; and

WHEREAS, In the 1960s, industry flourished and international 10 11 trade became increasingly prominent; the region has contributed 12 significantly to the tremendous increase in commerce across the United States-Mexico border, with more than 1,152,000 trucks, 11.7 13 14 million cars carrying 24.3 million passengers, 28,000 buses carrying over 300,000 passengers, and 6.2 million pedestrians 15 16 crossing Rio Grande Valley ports of entry and averaging more than \$140 million in goods and services per day, with over \$51 billion in 17 commercial trade per year flowing across various land ports of 18 entry; the Rio Grande Valley is an economic powerhouse for the State 19 20 of Texas with approximately \$12.5 billion in taxable sales recorded 21 in reporting year 2022; and

WHEREAS, The Valley has around 1.4 million residents, with approximately 835,000 individuals under the age of 25, and local and state officials have focused on the need to expand access to

1

1 higher education and health care, strengthen the workforce, 2 increase transportation and ports of entry infrastructure, and 3 increase funding for public education; The University of Texas Rio 4 Grande Valley serves some 30,000 students; the UTRGV School of 5 Medicine is in its seventh year of operation with numerous GME 6 programs and patient care sites; and

7 WHEREAS, The six higher education institutions in the Rio 8 Grande Valley, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Texas A&M 9 University McAllen Higher Education Center, Texas A&M University 10 Health Science Center, South Texas College, Texas Southmost 11 College, and Texas State Technical College, serve a student 12 population of over 90,000; and

WHEREAS, Major sponsors for the day's legislative event 13 14 include the Cities of Brownsville, San Benito, Primera, Palm 15 Valley, McAllen, and Edinburg, ERO Architects, Gulf Aviation, the Cameron County Regional Mobility Authority, M&S De Leon Enterprises 16 17 LLC, RGV Grant Consultants LLC, Cameron County Drainage District No. 5, Hidalgo County Precinct No. 4, JL Powers & Associates, Alamo 18 Chamber of Commerce, the Weslaco, Edinburg, Pharr, Mission, 19 Harlingen, and San Benito Economic Development Corporations, 20 Prairie View A&M University, Supporting World Hope, the Rio Grande 21 Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization, VTX1 Companies, Texas 22 23 State Technical College, the Port of Harlingen Authority, Driscoll 24 Children's Hospital, the Brownsville Community Improvement Corporation, Killam Development, Texas Gas Service, the Greater 25 26 Chamber of Harlingen, the Texas Oil & Gas Association, Texas Regional Bank, AT&T, and Atlas Hall & Rodriguez, all of which are 27

2

promoting greater regional cooperation in the 21st century; and WHEREAS, A vibrant region with a rich heritage, the Rio Grande Valley is poised to take advantage of tremendous opportunities for continued economic development, and it is indeed most fitting to honor Valley residents for their dedication to building a bright and prosperous future for the area; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2023, as Rio Grande 10 Valley Day at the State Capitol and extend to all participants 11 sincere best wishes for a productive and enjoyable visit.

> Martinez Guillen Muñoz, Jr. Longoria Lopez of Cameron

3

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 274 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House