RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Civic and business leaders of the Coastal Bend are 2 gathering in Austin on February 22, 2023, to celebrate the many 3 qualities that make their region one of the state's premier 4 vacation destinations; and

5 WHEREAS, Each year, the Coastal Bend draws millions of 6 travelers from across the country and around the globe; visitors to 7 Corpus Christi alone infuse more than \$1 billion into the local 8 economy and support tens of thousands of jobs; and

9 WHEREAS, The Port of Corpus Christi is one of the largest 10 ports in the country by tonnage, and it holds the distinct honor of 11 exporting the first barrel of U.S. crude after the lifting of a 12 40-year ban in 2015; it is also a strategically significant port for 13 the United States military, as the Coastal Bend is home to Naval Air 14 Stations Corpus Christi and Kingsville and the Corpus Christi Army 15 Depot; and

16 WHEREAS, The myriad popular attractions in the area include 17 the Padre Island National Seashore, the Texas State Aquarium, and 18 the South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center, with its 182 19 acres of tropical flowers, butterflies, and parrots; in addition, 20 visitors enjoy such cultural and educational venues as the Art 21 Museum of South Texas, the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and 22 History, and the USS *Lexington* aircraft carrier; and

1

1 WHEREAS, The Coastal Bend area contributes significantly to 2 the vibrancy and prosperity of the Lone Star State, and its 3 residents may indeed take pride in the rich heritage and natural 4 beauty that bring so many visitors to their communities; now, 5 therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2023, as Coastal Bend Day 8 at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the region's 9 delegation.

Herrero

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 276 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House