H.R. No. 294

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Latinx judges from across the state are gathering in 2 Austin on February 22, 2023, in celebration of Texas Latinx Judges Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, "Latinx" is the term specifically chosen 4 5 reference judges of all Latin American and/or Hispanic cultural, racial, and ethnic groups, including jurists who are nonbinary; and 6 7 WHEREAS, Although the Latinx population of Texas is at least 40 percent, Latinx judges account for only 16 percent of the state's 8 9 judiciary; nevertheless, Latinx judges have contributed significantly to the delivery of justice across the state; notable 10 11 trailblazers include Reynaldo Garza and Pete Benavides, U.S. Court 12 of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, Raul Gonzalez and Eva Guzman, Texas Supreme Court, Elsa Alcala, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, 13 14 Linda Yanez, Thirteenth Court of Appeals, Carlos Cadena and Alma Lopez, Fourth Court of Appeals, and Elma Salinas Ender, 341st 15 16 Judicial District Court, among others; and WHEREAS, With support from the Hispanic Issues Section of the 17 State Bar of Texas, Latinx judges formed the first nonpartisan 18 Texas-wide organization dedicated to advancing current and future 19 Latinx judges, recognizing their contributions, and promoting 20 21 diversity, inclusion, integrity, and excellence in the judiciary; 22 and

H.R. No. 294

- 1 WHEREAS, Fostering equal justice is the mission of all
- 2 judges, and the more than 500 Latinx individuals presently serving
- 3 on courts across Texas have exemplified the highest standards of
- 4 judicial conduct and have demonstrated an inspiring commitment to
- 5 the public through their efforts both on and off the bench; now,
- 6 therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2023, as Texas Latinx
- 9 Judges Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those
- 10 participating sincere best wishes for a memorable and enjoyable
- 11 visit to Austin.

Neave Criado

H.R. No. 294

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier	Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Dallas King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez	Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt
Gamez	Martinez Martinez Fischer	Toth
Garcia	Metcalf	Troxclair
Gates Gerdes	Meyer Meza	Turner VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas	Morales Shaw	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu Zwiener
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener

	H.R. No. 294
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 294 was	adopted by the House on February
22, 2023, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House