H.R. No. 330

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Representatives of the City of Plano, the Plano 2 Chamber of Commerce, and the Plano Independent School District are 3 visiting Austin on February 28 and March 1, 2023, to take part in 4 Plano Legislative Days at the State Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, Boasting a population of approximately 292,000, this self-styled City of Excellence is celebrating 150 years as a 6 7 city and continues to garner accolades for its prosperity and quality of life; in 2022, Plano was recognized as the ninth best 8 city to find a job by WalletHub and as a best place to live in 9 America by MSN, while maintaining its status as one of the safest 10 11 cities in America as recognized by SmartAsset and being recognized 12 for High-Performance Operations by Cartegraph; and

13 WHEREAS, Contributing greatly to the city's success is the 14 Plano Chamber of Commerce, which is committed to supporting economic growth through advocacy, education, innovation, 15 and 16 collaboration; promoting the city's outstanding workforce, competitive business climate, world-class business parks, and 17 accessibility, the chamber represents many 18 iconic qlobal corporations, including Toyota Motor North America, Liberty Mutual 19 Insurance, JPMorgan Chase & Co., Boeing Global Services, NTT DATA, 20 21 JCPenney, FedEx Office, Frito-Lay, and Capital One; its efforts have earned the Plano Chamber a five-star accreditation from the 22 23 U.S. Chamber of Commerce, placing it among the top one percent of 24 chambers of commerce in the nation, and the distinguished honor of

1

1 being named 2018 Chamber of the Year by the Association of Chamber 2 of Commerce Executives; and

H.R. No. 330

3 WHEREAS, The Plano Independent School District is likewise benefiting the city and area residents, with nearly 7,000 members 4 5 of its faculty and staff working to prepare the district's nearly 50,000 students for the challenges and opportunities that lie 6 ahead; the teachers of Plano ISD average more than 11 years of 7 8 experience, and 36 percent of them hold master's degrees or above; nearly 96 percent of Plano ISD students graduate in four years, and 9 10 their scores on college entrance exams continue to exceed those of their peers nationwide; in addition, 103 Plano ISD seniors were 11 12 awarded semifinalist standing in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program; the district is also home to a number of state, 13 14 national, and international winners in fine arts, career and 15 technical education, and science competitions; 13 district Parent Teacher Associations have been recognized as National PTA Schools 16 17 of Excellence; moreover, Plano ISD has been able to shift gears, acquire materials, train staff, and work with community partners to 18 19 continue meeting the diverse and complex needs of students and families since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic; and 20

21 WHEREAS, A true Lone Star success story, Plano is a global 22 leader where residents are bonded by a shared sense of community and 23 experience unparalleled quality of life, and the City of Plano, the 24 Plano Chamber of Commerce, and the Plano Independent School 25 District are helping to build an even brighter and more prosperous 26 future for their thriving community; now, therefore, be it

27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

2

H.R. No. 330 1 Legislature hereby recognize February 28 and March 1, 2023, as 2 Plano Legislative Days at the State Capitol and extend to the 3 visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and 4 enjoyable stay in Austin.

Shaheen

H.R. No. 330

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 330

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 330 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House