H.R. No. 354

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texas Tech University in Lubbock is celebrating the
100th anniversary of its founding in 2023; and

3 WHEREAS, Established as Texas Technological College in 1923, the school opened two years later with an enrollment of 914 4 undergraduate students; in 1936, a division of graduate studies was 5 added, and in 1969 the college was renamed Texas Tech University; 6 7 the institution has distinguished itself by earning the Very High Research Activity designation from the Carnegie Classification of 8 Institutions of Higher Education, as well as recognition as a 9 Veteran Friendly Institution and as an honoree on the "Best for 10 11 Vets: Employers" list by the Military Times; in the last three 12 years, its faculty members have received 23 Fulbright Scholar Awards, 8 National Science Foundation Career Awards, and 7 National 13 14 Endowment for the Humanities grants; Texas Tech alumni include governors from Texas and Colorado, multiple members of Congress and 15 16 state legislatures, stars of stage, screen, and music, and leaders and captains of industry, science, engineering, agriculture, and 17 18 more; and

WHEREAS, Today, Texas Tech serves more than 40,000 students 19 and offers over 150 undergraduate, 100 graduate, and 50 doctoral 20 21 programs across its 13 colleges and schools; the university also 22 international and study abroad has campuses programs; 23 award-winning programs include the Davis College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, the School of Medicine, the School 24

1

1 of Law, multiple colleges of engineering, and the Rawls College of 2 Business; in recent years, the university inaugurated the Texas 3 Tech School of Veterinary Medicine; and

WHEREAS, Texas Tech also takes great pride in its athletic programs; the Red Raiders compete in 17 varsity sports, and 16 of those teams have participated in the NCAA postseason or in a bowl game; moreover, the university has won 27 Big 12 Conference titles, including 11 in the past seven years, and its alumni include Olympic athletes and Super Bowl champions; and

10 WHEREAS, Since its founding 100 years ago, Texas Tech has 11 provided generations of Texans with a strong foundation for 12 achievement, and in so doing, it has contributed significantly to 13 the prosperity and vitality of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, 14 be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 16 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of Texas Tech 17 University and extend to all those associated with this noteworthy 18 institution sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the university as an expression of high regard by the 21 Texas House of Representatives.

> Tepper Thimesch

H.R. No. 354

2

H.R. No. 354

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 354

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 354 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House