RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Distinguished citizens of Irving-Las Colinas are 2 gathering on March 1, 2023, to celebrate Irving-Las Colinas Day at

3 the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce, which is

5 recognized as the first Five Star Chamber of Commerce in Texas,

6 actively represents the interests of the largest business park in

7 North Texas and is celebrating 90 years of service to the area's

8 thriving business community; for the last five decades, area

9 residents have also benefited from access to Las Colinas

10 Association, which helps to maintain a premier master-planned

11 community, as well as the Irving Convention and Visitor's Bureau

12 and Visit Irving, which have ably represented the hospitality

13 industry community in Irving-Las Colinas for the past half century;

14 and

15 WHEREAS, Irving began its period of rapid growth in the

16 mid-20th century; the Plymouth Park Shopping Center opened in 1955,

17 followed by the opening of the University of Dallas in 1956 and

18 Irving Community Hospital in 1964; the creation of DFW

19 International Airport and the creation of Las Colinas and Valley

20 Ranch master-planned business and residential communities

21 contributed further to the city's growth, and for more than four

22 decades, the city has been home to the Big 12 Conference

23 headquarters and the National Football Foundation; and

24 WHEREAS, Today, with a population of more than 254,000,

- 1 Irving has been ranked as the second most culturally diverse city in United States and is known as the "Headquarters 2 3 Headquarters," with more headquarters per capita than any other city in the State of Texas; Irving is home to more than 8,500 4 5 including 10 Fortune 500 global headquarters: companies, ExxonMobil, McKesson Corporation, Caterpillar, Builders 6 Kimberly-Clark Corporation, 7 FirstSource, Pioneer Natural 8 Resources, Fluor Corporation, Vistra Energy, Celanese Corporation, and Commercial Metals Company, as well as the Fortune 1000 global 9 10 headquarters for The Michaels Companies, Darling Ingredients, Nexstar Media Group, and Flowserve Corporation; other major 11 12 employers include such companies as 7-Eleven, Allstate Insurance Company, AT&T, The Boeing Company, CHRISTUS Health, Citigroup, 13 14 Inc., Keurig Dr Pepper, Envoy Air, Frito-Lay, 15 Corporation, Mission Foods, NCH Corporation, NEC Corporation of
- Networks, and Verizon; and

 WHEREAS, Irving's educational resources make it a fine place
 to live and work; the University of Dallas, Dallas College North
 Lake Campus, and eight other institutions of higher education offer
 opportunities for study and personal growth; and

America, Neiman Marcus Direct, Trader Joe's, Trend Micro, TXOne

16

WHEREAS, The Irving Arts Center, which was recognized as the best arts center in Texas by the program Official Best of America in 2022, is home to three symphony orchestras and two award-winning theater companies; other local attractions include the gondolas at the Mandalay Canal, the museum and sculpture of the Mustangs of Las Colinas, the Toyota Music Factory, and Gables Water Street, which

- 1 provide entertainment for residents and visitors alike; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Benefiting greatly from the farsighted leadership
- 3 of mayor Rick Stopfer, city manager Chris Hillman, and city council
- 4 members John Bloch, Brad M. LaMorgese, Mark Zeske, Phil Riddle, J.
- 5 Oscar Ward, Al Zapanta, Kyle Taylor, and Dennis Webb, Irving is a
- 6 forward-looking and vibrant city, and its creative and hardworking
- 7 citizens are to be commended for their contributions to the
- 8 prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2023, as Irving-Las Colinas
- 11 Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the local
- 12 government officials, corporate executives, chamber
- 13 representatives, and other citizens present today.

Meza Anchía Johnson of Dallas

Phelan	Guerra	Murr
Allen	Guillen	Neave Criado
Allison	Harless	Noble
Anchía	Harris of Anderson	Oliverson
Anderson	Harris of Williamson	Ordaz
Ashby	Harrison	Orr
Bailes	Hayes	Ortega
Bell of Kaufman	Hefner	Patterson
Bell of Montgomery	Hernandez	Paul
Bernal		
	Herrero	Perez
Bhojani	Hinojosa	Plesa
Bonnen	Holland	Price
Bowers	Howard	Ramos
Bryant	Hull	Raney
Buckley	Hunter	Raymond
Bucy	Isaac	Reynolds
Bumgarner	Jetton	Rogers
_	Johnson of Dallas	
Burns		Romero, Jr.
Burrows	A. Johnson of Harris	Rose
Button	J. Johnson of Harris	Rosenthal
Cain	Jones of Dallas	Schaefer
Campos	Jones of Harris	Schatzline
Canales	Kacal	Schofield
Capriglione	King of Hemphill	Shaheen
Clardy	King of Uvalde	Sherman, Sr.
Cole	Kitzman	Shine
Collier	Klick	Slaton
Cook	Kuempel	Slawson
Cortez	Lalani	Smith
Craddick	Lambert	Smithee
Cunningham	Landgraf	Spiller
Darby	Leach	Stucky
Davis	Leo-Wilson	Swanson
Dean	Longoria	Talarico
DeAyala	Lopez of Bexar	Tepper
Dorazio	Lopez of Cameron	Thierry
Dutton	Lozano	Thimesch
Flores	Lujan	Thompson of Brazoria
Frank	Manuel	Thompson of Harris
Frazier	Martinez	Tinderholt
Gamez	Martinez Fischer	Toth
Garcia	Metcalf	Troxclair
Gates	Meyer	Turner
Gerdes	Meza	VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas		
	Morales Shaw	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu .
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 355 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House