## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Plano are celebrating the 150th 2 anniversary of the incorporation of their city with an event on 3 June 3, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Located in southwestern Collin County, Plano can 4 5 trace its origins to 1851, when Kentucky farmer William Forman moved to Texas and purchased land from colonist Sanford Beck; that 6 7 same year, Mr. Forman built a general store and other enterprises that formed a focal point for the small community; when a post 8 office was established in 1852, the name Plano was selected for the 9 town; in 1873, Plano was officially platted and incorporated, and 10 11 its first mayor and board of aldermen were elected; and

WHEREAS, Early in its history, Plano benefited from manufacturing and ranching industries; railways were eventually established in the area, and the city became a retail outlet for farmers in the Blackland Prairie region; during the 1980s, Plano experienced a period of tremendous growth, and major businesses moved their headquarters to the city; and

WHEREAS, Today, Plano is home to more than 285,000 residents, and the city serves as a major hub for commercial, financial, and educational activities in Collin County; nicknamed the Balloon Capital of Texas, the city hosts an annual hot air balloon festival; Plano also boasts a number of historical sites, including the Heritage Farmstead, the Interurban Railway Museum, Baccus Plaza, and the original Texas-shaped pool; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich history as they work to build 2 an even brighter future, residents of Plano are justifiably proud 3 of their community, and it is indeed fitting to recognize the city's 4 contributions to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 6 Legislature hereby commemorate the 150th anniversary of the city of 7 Plano and extend to its citizens sincere best wishes for the future; 8 and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the city as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

Leach

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 364 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House