By: Hinojosa

H.R. No. 464

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin volleyball team
proved itself the finest in the nation by winning the 2022 NCAA
Division I national championship on December 17; and

WHEREAS, Ranked No. 1 for all but one week of the regular 4 5 season, the 2022 Longhorns dropped just one match over the course of the year and entered the NCAA tournament as the top overall seed; 6 7 the team notched commanding victories over Fairleigh Dickinson, Georgia, Marquette, and Ohio State to reach the NCAA Final Four in 8 9 Omaha, Nebraska; matching up against the University of San Diego in the semifinals, the Longhorns lost the first set but came back to 10 11 finish off their opponent 25-16, 25-18, 25-20 and earn a spot in the 12 title game; and

13 WHEREAS, Texas battled for the crown against the University 14 of Louisville; starting the match down 3-0, the Longhorns rallied to win the first set 25-22; Texas dominated the second game, 25-14, 15 to take a 2-0 lead, but Louisville had a chance to extend the match 16 with two set points while leading 24-22 in the third; demonstrating 17 tremendous poise and confidence, the Longhorns won the next four 18 points to clinch a three-set sweep and secure the program's fourth 19 20 national championship; and

21 WHEREAS, The Longhorns were paced by team captain Logan 22 Eggleston, who was named the Final Four Most Outstanding Player as 23 well as the American Volleyball Coaches Association National Player 24 of the Year; Texas also received valuable contributions throughout

1

H.R. No. 464

the season from the other members of the roster: Jenna Ewert, Emma 1 Halter, DeAndra Pierce, Melanie Parra, Bella Bergmark, Madisen 2 3 Skinner, Asjia O'Neal, Saige Ka'aha'aina-Torres, Zoe Fleck, Marianna Singletary, Keonilei Akana, Kenna Miller, Molly Phillips, 4 5 Reilly Heinrich, Marina Crownover, Kayla Caffey, and Devin Kahahawai; these determined student-athletes were ably guided by 6 Jerritt Elliott, who picked up his second national title at the helm 7 8 of the program; the team enjoyed additional support from associate head coaches Erik Sullivan and David Hunt and volunteer assistant 9 10 Jessica Brannan as well as director of operations Nathan Mendoza, video coordinator Jesse Sultzer, senior associate athletic trainer 11 12 DeAnn Koehler, and assistant athletics director for athletic 13 performance Donnie Maib; and

WHEREAS, Playing with exemplary skill, determination, and teamwork, the 2022 Longhorns volleyball team realized their season-long goal of becoming national champions, and their achievement will forever be a proud memory for the university's loyal fans throughout the Lone Star State and beyond; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 21 Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at Austin 22 volleyball team on winning the 2022 NCAA national championship and 23 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best 24 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

25 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 26 prepared for the Longhorns as an expression of high regard by the 27 Texas House of Representatives.

2