H.R. No. 517

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Asian American Pacific Islander 2 community are gathering in Austin on March 9, 2023, for the 3 inaugural Desi Day of Action at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The umbrella term "AAPI" refers to Pacific Islander,
Southeast Asian, South Asian, West Asian, Central Asian, and East
Asian cultures, and it encompasses some 50 different ethnicities
and over 300 languages and dialects; and

8 WHEREAS, In Texas, the AAPI population numbers over 1.9 9 million, having grown by 186 percent since 2000; Harris, Dallas, 10 and Fort Bend Counties have the highest number of AAPI residents; 11 the top five Asian languages spoken in the state are Vietnamese, 12 Chinese, Tagalog, Hindi, and Urdu, and among the many others are 13 Samoan, Chamorro, Tongan, Hawaiian, Chuukese, and Marshallese; and

14 WHEREAS, Desi Day of Action provides an opportunity for AAPI Texans to raise awareness of the issues important to them, while 15 16 also building community among members of the many organizations involved with the event; these include the South Asian American 17 Voter Empowerment of Texas Education Fund, Asian Texans for 18 Justice, Indian American Impact Project, OCA-Greater Houston, 19 Woori Juntos, and the Asian Pacific Islander American Public 20 21 Affairs Association; and

WHEREAS, Members of the AAPI community contribute to the vibrancy and prosperity of the Lone Star State in myriad ways, and the participants in this advocacy day are demonstrating their

1

H.R. No. 517
1 commitment to making an even greater positive impact through active
2 civic engagement; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize March 9, 2023, as Desi Day of Action at 5 the State Capitol.

Lalani

H.R. No. 517

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 517

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 517 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House