RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The ninth month of the Islamic calendar year, 2 Ramadan is a time when Muslims reinforce their spiritual beliefs by worshipping, reading the 3 fasting, Quran, practicing self-discipline, and helping the less fortunate; in 2023, Ramadan 4 is beginning on March 22 with the expected appearance of the 5 crescent moon and lasts for the remainder of the lunar month; and 6

7 WHEREAS, During Ramadan, Muslims abstain from food and drink 8 from sunrise until sunset in an effort to deepen their faith and to 9 better understand the plight of the poor and hungry; Muslims break 10 their daily fasts by sharing meals, known as iftars, with family and 11 friends; and

WHEREAS, Muslims have been a part of the fabric of America since the 1500s, when the first Muslims arrived as slaves with colonial expeditions; today, Islam is one of the world's major religions, with many followers across the United States and around the globe; and

WHEREAS, While focusing on their spiritual growth during Ramadan, Muslims affirm their commitment to working toward the collective good of society and the well-being of people from all walks of life, and it is indeed fitting to acknowledge the significance of this special occasion to people of the Muslim faith who call Texas home; and

23 WHEREAS, The first Iftar dinner at the State Capitol is 24 taking place on March 29, 2023, providing a fitting opportunity to

1

1 recognize the observance of Ramadan; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the first Iftar dinner at the State 4 Capitol and extend to Muslims across Texas sincere best wishes for a 5 joyous and meaningful observance of Ramadan.

Lalani

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison

Muñoz, Jr. Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 532 was adopted by the House on March 22, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House