## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Nowruz is being observed by many Texans and a
 variety of faith groups on March 21, 2023, including Muslims,
 Baha'is, and Zoroastrians; and

WHEREAS, This festival celebrates the first day of Spring,
which is observed by many communities, particularly in Central and
South Asia; and

7 WHEREAS, the origin of the celebration can be traced back to8 ancient Persia, being the first day of the Persian solar year; and

9 WHEREAS, Nowruz commemorates a centuries-old agrarian custom 10 that over time was integrated into various cultures and faith 11 groups; and

12 WHEREAS, Nowruz is traditionally celebrated by the recital of 13 devotional poetry, prayers, and the distribution of dried fruits, 14 nuts, and grains to symbolize the abundance of sustenance; and

15 WHEREAS, Today, Nowruz is celebrated in different ways by 16 some 300 million people around the world, traditionally started 17 with a Spring cleaning of the house; and

WHEREAS, The moment that the sun crosses the celestial equator, referred to as Saal Tahvil, or, "The turning point of the year," families gather together around the Haft Seen table to exchange gifts, offer prayers, and wish one another a Happy Nowruz; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
 Legislature hereby commemorate Nowruz 2023 and extend a joyous and

1

1 memorable celebration to all those who celebrate.

Lalani

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

\_\_\_\_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 596 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House