## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Pakistani American community are 2 gathering in Austin on March 20, 2023, for Pakistan Day of Action at 3 the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located in the northwest region of the Indo-Pak subcontinent, Pakistan encompasses the Indus Valley and other areas near the Indus River, which were home to some of the world's earliest civilizations; emigration from the region dates as far back as 3,000 B.C.; Pakistan became an independent country in 1947, and Pakistani emigrants have made invaluable contributions to countries around the globe; and

11 WHEREAS, Pakistan and the United States have shared seven and 12 a half decades of diplomatic relations, which have included such events as Vice President Lyndon B. Johnson's 1961 visit to 13 14 Pakistan, President Mohammad Ayub Khan's 1961 State visit to the U.S., during which he addressed a joint session of the Texas 15 16 Legislature as well as a joint meeting of Congress, President Lyndon B. Johnson's 1967 visit to Pakistan, President Muhammed Zia 17 ul-Haq's 1982 State visit to the U.S., during which he visited 18 Houston, and President George W. Bush's 2006 visit to Pakistan; 19 20 highlighting Pakistani, American, and Texan hospitality, the 21 visits were momentous occasions in the history of U.S. and Pakistan 22 relations; and

23 WHEREAS, Today, more than 600,000 Pakistani Americans reside 24 in the U.S., and Texas is home to over 87,000 individuals of

1

Pakistani heritage, with large populations of Pakistani Texans
residing in the state's major metropolitan areas, including Austin,
Dallas-Fort Worth, Houston, and San Antonio; and

H.R. No. 600

WHEREAS, The U.S. is Pakistan's largest trading partner, and 4 5 Texas makes up the fourth-largest portion of that bilateral trade; Texas and Pakistan benefit from a number of mutual exchanges, 6 including ATX+PAK Entrepreneurship program 7 the and the 8 U.S.-Pakistan Women's Council Future of Women in Energy Scholars program; moreover, partnerships between The University of Texas at 9 10 Austin and several universities in Pakistan, such as the National College of Art in Lahore, the University of Karachi, the National 11 12 Academy of Performing Arts in Karachi, and the Fatima Jinnah Women University in Islamabad, have resulted in faculty and student 13 14 exchanges in the fields of film studies, music, performing arts, 15 and social sciences; and

16 WHEREAS, Pakistan has one of the world's youngest 17 populations, with about 63 percent of the nation's citizens being 18 between the ages of 15 and 33; Texas businesses can utilize the 19 country's highly skilled young professionals to advance the state's 20 economy, particularly in the information technology and biotech 21 industries; and

22 WHEREAS, Members of the Pakistani American community 23 contribute to the vibrancy and prosperity of the Lone Star State in 24 myriad ways, and the participants in this advocacy day are 25 demonstrating their commitment to making an even more positive 26 impact through active civic engagement; now, therefore, be it

27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

2

Legislature hereby recognize Pakistan Day of Action at the State Capitol on March 20, 2023, and extend a warm welcome to the Consul General of Pakistan, the Pakistani American Collaborative of Texas, the Pakistani Society of North Texas, the Pakistani Association of Greater Houston, and the other members of the visiting delegation.

> Bhojani Lalani Bucy Meza Jetton

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 600 was adopted by the House on March 20, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House