H.R. No. 619

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Fairfield are gathering in Austin
on March 23, 2023, to celebrate Fairfield Day at the State Capitol;
and

WHEREAS, Initially called Mound Prairie, the community was renamed Fairfield after it was chosen as the Freestone County seat in 1850; the original 100-acre townsite was donated to the county by David H. Love; by 1880, the town had a population of about 450, as well as two steam gristmills, two cotton gins, and three hotels; and

9 WHEREAS, Agriculture has driven the local economy since the 10 early days of the community, though cotton cultivation has been 11 replaced by cattle ranching and peach production; the area has also 12 been a source of natural gas for many decades, and in 1969, the 13 abundant lignite resources near Fairfield led to the creation of a 14 steam electric station; and

WHEREAS, Today, this charming town is home to nearly 3,000 15 16 people and boasts a number of historic attractions, including the beautiful Freestone County Courthouse, which dates back to 1919, 17 and the Freestone County Historical Museum; residents and visitors 18 alike benefit from the recreational opportunities afforded by 19 20 Fairfield Lake State Park, the Richland Chambers Reservoir, and the Freestone County Raceway, and each year the town hosts the 21 Freestone County Fair & Rodeo; and 22

23 WHEREAS, With a colorful history, a bounty of natural 24 resources, and an inviting small-town atmosphere, Fairfield is a

1

H.R. No. 619 1 desirable community in which to live and work, and its residents may 2 indeed take justifiable pride in the place they call home; now, 3 therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 5 Legislature hereby recognize March 23, 2023, as Fairfield Day at 6 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 7 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Orr

H.R. No. 619

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 619 was adopted by the House on March 23, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House