RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Tarrant County are gathering in
- 2 Austin on March 22 and 23, 2023, to celebrate Tarrant County Days at
- 3 the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Created in 1849, Tarrant County has a history rooted
- 5 in the Old West, having served as the terminus point for cattle
- 6 drives during the 19th century; it was named after General Edward
- 7 H. Tarrant, who commanded Republic of Texas militia forces at the
- 8 Battle of Village Creek in 1841; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Tarrant County has transformed itself from a
- 10 frontier community into a contemporary and cosmopolitan center for
- 11 business, education, culture, and tourism; with more than 2.1
- 12 million people, it is the third-most populous county in Texas; its
- 13 county seat, Fort Worth, is the state's fifth-largest city, and
- 14 other notable communities include Arlington, North Richland Hills,
- 15 Euless, Bedford, and Keller; and
- WHEREAS, Visitors from across the nation are drawn to such
- 17 exciting, family-friendly attractions as Six Flags Over Texas and
- 18 the Fort Worth Zoo, as well as to sporting events at Choctaw
- 19 Stadium, Globe Life Field, Dickies Arena, and the state-of-the-art
- 20 AT&T Stadium; the county also boasts among its assets the Kimbell
- 21 Art Museum, the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth, and the Amon Carter
- 22 Museum of American Art, which enjoy an international reputation, as
- 23 well as the popular Fort Worth Stockyards National Historical
- 24 District, which celebrates the city's unique Western heritage; and

1 WHEREAS, Tarrant County is home to a number of higher education institutions, including The University of Texas at 2 3 Arlington, Texas A&M University School of Law, the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, Tarleton State 4 5 University-Fort Worth, and the UT Arlington Research Institute, which aims to become a global leader in advanced manufacturing, 6 medical technologies, applied robotics, and 7 environmental 8 engineering; in addition, Texas Christian University in Fort Worth continues to build on its long tradition of excellence, and Tarrant 9 10 County College offers residents outstanding, affordable educational opportunities; and 11 12 WHEREAS, This North Texas county boasts a diversified economy and benefits from the presence of major employers such as American Airlines, whose headquarters is located in Fort Worth, Lockheed

13 14 15 Martin, and Bell Helicopter; its thriving business community is served by organizations, including local chambers of commerce, that 16 17 are working to promote economic growth and foster a supportive climate for business; and 18

WHEREAS, The citizens of Tarrant County are committed to 19 honoring their rich and colorful history while building an even 20 brighter future for the generations to come, and it is a privilege 21 to recognize their industry, their achievements, and their public 22 spirit; now, therefore, be it 23

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize March 22 and 23, 2023, as Tarrant
- 3 County Days at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the
- 4 visiting delegation.

Geren

Phelan	Guerra	Murr	
Allen	Guillen	Neave Criado	
Allison	Harless	Noble	
Anchía	Harris of Anderson	Oliverson	
Anderson	Harris of Williamson	Ordaz	
Ashby	Harrison	Orr	
Bailes	Hayes	Ortega	
Bell of Kaufman	Hefner	Patterson	
Bell of Montgomery	Hernandez	Paul	
Bernal	Herrero	Perez	
Bhojani	Hinojosa	Plesa	
Bonnen	Holland	Price	
Bowers	Howard	Ramos	
Bryant	Hull	Raney	
Buckley	Hunter	Raymond	
Bucy	Isaac	Reynolds	
Bumgarner	Jetton	Rogers	
Burns	Johnson of Dallas	Romero, Jr.	
Burrows	A. Johnson of Harris	Rose	
Button	J. Johnson of Harris	Rosenthal	
Cain	Jones of Dallas	Schaefer	
Campos	Jones of Harris	Schatzline	
Canales	Kacal	Schofield	
Capriglione	King of Hemphill	Shaheen	
Clardy	King of Uvalde	Sherman, Sr.	
Cole	Kitzman	Shine	
Collier	Klick	Slaton	
Cook	Kuempel	Slawson	
Cortez	Lalani	Smith	
Craddick	Lambert	Smithee	
Cunningham	Landgraf	Spiller	
Darby	Leach	Stucky	
Davis	Leo-Wilson	Swanson	
Dean	Longoria	Talarico	
DeAyala	Lopez of Bexar	Tepper	
Dorazio	Lopez of Cameron	Thierry	
Dutton	Lozano	Thimesch	
Flores	Lujan	Thompson of Brazoria	
Frank	Manuel	Thompson of Harris	
Frazier	Martinez	Tinderholt	
Gamez	Martinez Fischer	Toth	
Garcia	Metcalf	Troxclair	
Gates	Meyer	Turner	
Gerdes	Meza	VanDeaver	
Geren	Moody	Vasut	
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo	
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle	
González of Dallas	Morales Shaw	Wilson	
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu	
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 630 was adopted by the House on March 23, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House