By: Plesa

H.R. No. 941

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of the TechnoBotz robotics team from the 2 Frisco Independent School District distinguished themselves by 3 advancing to the state championship event for the FIRST Lego 4 League; and

5 WHEREAS, The FIRST Lego League provides students with 6 opportunities to design, build, program, and operate robots while 7 developing important STEM skills; in addition, participants are 8 tasked with finding innovative and sustainable ways of generating 9 electricity and addressing climate change; and

WHEREAS, Made up of a group of determined seventh- and 10 11 eighth-grade students, the Frisco ISD team took part in the North 12 Texas qualifying event and the North Texas/Panhandle finals, finishing in third place and earning the Champions Award at both 13 14 competitions; TechnoBotz then advanced to the state championship, where the team faced off against top robotics squads from 15 16 throughout Texas; turning in an impressive performance, the Frisco students earned 11th place in the robot game and second place for 17 their core values presentation; and 18

WHEREAS, Throughout the year, TechnoBotz received valuable contributions from each of its members: Tanmay Kandi and Rameez Nathoo of Lawler Middle School, Abhay Chilka of Nelson Middle School, and Arush Garlapad of Fowler Middle School; and

23 WHEREAS, With their fine showing at the state contest, the 24 students on the TechnoBotz robotics team have demonstrated

1

H.R. No. 941
1 tremendous skill, initiative, and dedication, and they are a source
2 of great pride to their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the TechnoBotz robotics team from Frisco ISD on competing in the FIRST Lego League state championship and extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

2