H.R. No. 957

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Dallas women's basketball
team furthered its tradition of success by winning the championship
game of the 2023 American Southwest Conference Tournament; and

WHEREAS, Following an impressive showing in the regular season, UT Dallas opened the ASC Tournament with a thrilling 62-58 overtime decision against Sul Ross State University; the Comets continued their exceptional play in the semifinals, stunning nationally ranked Hardin-Simmons University with a winning shot at the buzzer for a 73-71 win and a trip to the final; and

WHEREAS, On February 25, UT Dallas battled East Texas Baptist 10 11 University for the ASC Tournament crown; after trailing 7-0, the 12 Comets built a 30-23 halftime advantage and expanded their lead to 17 points in the third quarter; demonstrating tremendous resolve 13 14 down the stretch, UT Dallas held off a late rally from its opponent to triumph by the final score of 63-57; the players clinched the 15 16 program's fifth ASC Tournament title while earning an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Tournament; and 17

WHEREAS, Most Valuable Player Jordan Maxwell paced UT Dallas throughout the ASC Tournament, and she was joined by Cierra Trigg and Trystan Clark on the ASC All-Tournament Team; the Comets also received valuable contributions over the course of the season from the other members of the roster: Amanda Crowninshield, Maddie Edler, Mia Rudin, Maggie Delascurain, Kaylee Boykin, Diane Hurst, Blythe Williams, Raven Busby, Anna Yellen, Lauren Fulenwider,

1

H.R. No. 957

Jordyn Hofmann, Kyra Samuels, and Raylee Cave; these talented
student-athletes were ably guided by head coach Joe Shotland and
assistant coach Jackie Layng; and

WHEREAS, Winning a conference tournament championship represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and the UT Dallas Comets may reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 9 Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at Dallas 10 women's basketball team on winning the 2023 ASC Tournament 11 championship and extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere 12 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for the Comets as an expression of high regard by the Texas 15 House of Representatives.

Plesa

2

H.R. No. 957

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 957 was adopted by the House on April 20, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House