By: Plesa H.R. No. 970

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of North Texas men's basketball team
brought the 2022-2023 season to a triumphant close by winning the
National Invitation Tournament; and
WHEREAS, Suffering just seven losses all season, UNT went
16-4 against its league rivals but lost in the semifinals of the
Conference USA tournament to the University of Alabama at
Birmingham; the Mean Green rebounded for an easy 69-53 victory over

9 impressive wins against Sam Houston State and Oklahoma State 10 Universities; in the semifinals, the team defeated the University

Alcorn State University to open the NIT and followed that up with

11 of Wisconsin 56-54, holding the Badgers scoreless in the final nine

12 minutes of regulation to advance to the championship contest; and

WHEREAS, On March 30 at Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada, the Mean Green players took the floor in a rematch against the University of Alabama at Birmingham, a team they had met twice in

16 the regular season and once in the conference tournament; North

17 Texas opened with a 10-2 run and led by 10 heading into the break;

18 UAB staged a second half comeback, and UNT found itself trailing

19 53-52; with the title on the line, the Mean Green refused to give in

20 and outscored UAB 16-8 over the final six minutes to take home the

21 crown; the team cut down the nets in celebration of the school's

22 first NIT championship and ended the year with a school record 31

23 wins; and

8

24 WHEREAS, UNT was led by Tylor Perry, the NIT Most Outstanding

H.R. No. 970

- 1 Player, who scored more than 20 points in four of the team's five
- 2 games, and he was joined on the All-Tournament Team by Kai
- 3 Huntsberry; the Mean Green also received valuable contributions
- 4 throughout the year from the other members of the roster: Rasheed
- 5 Browne, Aaron Scott, Christian Moore, Tyree Eady, Arsh Mattu,
- 6 Moulaye Sissoko, Rubin Jones, Grayson Allo, Chris Morgan, Matthew
- 7 Stone, Jayden Martinez, and Abou Ousmane; these dedicated
- 8 student-athletes were guided by head coach Grant McCasland,
- 9 associate head coach Ross Hodge, and assistant coaches Matt Braeuer
- 10 and Achoki Moikobu, with additional support from director of
- 11 basketball operations Andre Shaw and the entire men's basketball
- 12 staff; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The talented and hardworking members of the
- 14 University of North Texas men's basketball team have realized an
- 15 outstanding accomplishment by capturing the NIT title, and their
- 16 achievements are a source of great pride for the university's
- 17 students, alumni, and fans; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the University of North Texas men's
- 20 basketball team on winning the 2023 National Invitation Tournament
- 21 and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 22 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the Mean Green as an expression of high regard by the
- 25 Texas House of Representatives.