By: Leach

H.R. No. 1111

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize the Bob Bullock Scholars Program of Baylor University and 3 this year's participants in the initiative; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2000 to honor the memory of Lieutenant Governor Bob Bullock, this exemplary program promotes the study of politics among Baylor University students; and

7 WHEREAS, Each participant in the program works for a House or 8 Senate member on a full-time basis during the legislative session 9 to learn firsthand about Texas government; the Bob Bullock Scholars 10 Program is a model for those who seek to serve others through a 11 career in public service; and

12 WHEREAS, Dr. Patrick J Flavin, the Bob Bullock Professor of 13 Public Policy and Administration at Baylor University, has served 14 as the director of the program since 2021; and

WHEREAS, The 10 Bob Bullock Scholars participating in the 15 16 2023 session of the Texas Legislature are: Allie Barnett with Senator Brian Birdwell, Caden Betancourt with Representative Jeff 17 Leach, Mika'ele Castro with Senator Mayes Middleton, Hayden 18 Cottrell with Representative Mary E. González, Paige Hoefer with 19 20 Senator Royce West, Audrey La with Representative Gene Wu, Anabelle Snyder with Senator Robert Nichols, Gabe Solano with Senator 21 Brandon Creighton, Rhayne Trahan with Representative Chris Turner, 22 23 and Morné Wolmarans with Senator Drew Springer, Jr.; and

24 WHEREAS, These public-spirited students are to be commended

1

1 for their participation and interest in state government; now, 2 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1111

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize the 2023 Bob Bullock Scholars of 5 Baylor University and commend all those associated with the program 6 for their outstanding contributions; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for the program's participants as an expression of high 9 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2