RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of La Salle County are gathering in
Austin on April 18, 2023, to celebrate La Salle County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated in South Texas and traversed by the Nueces 4 and Frio Rivers, the area that is now La Salle County has been 5 inhabited for approximately 11,000 years; in the 1850s, the U.S. 6 7 Army briefly operated the Fort Ewell outpost on the road from San Antonio to Laredo, and by 1871, some 60 people lived in the nearby 8 9 town of Guajoco; a number of ranchers moved into the region, and in 1880, the county was formally organized, with Stuart's Rancho near 10 11 Guajoco designated as its first seat of government; soon after, the 12 International-Great Northern Railroad extended its line into the county, with landowner Joseph Cotulla donating land to encourage 13 14 the railroad to pass through a townsite he was developing; over the years, Cotulla became the most populous town in the county, and the 15 16 county seat was eventually moved there; and

WHEREAS, During the first decades of the 20th century, the 17 18 introduction of commercial agriculture ushered in a new period of development, and national advertising campaigns attracted numerous 19 20 settlers, more than doubling the county's population to over 4,700 21 by 1910; in addition to cattle ranching, lucrative crops such as onions, peaches, pears, plums, figs, and cotton became staples of 22 23 the local economy; in 1940, the first oil well was drilled, and production continued to rise in the succeeding decades, with nearly 24

1

1 two million barrels of crude oil produced in 1990; and

2 WHEREAS, Today, La Salle County has a population of more than 3 6,500; the majority of the region's residents are concentrated in 4 the cities of Encinal and Cotulla, which is home to the county's 5 courthouse and airport; since 2008, shale oil production has 6 further bolstered economic conditions; and

7 WHEREAS, Even as they celebrate their unique heritage, the 8 citizens of La Salle County are looking ahead to the opportunities 9 of the future, and they may reflect with pride on their 10 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, 11 be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 13 Legislature hereby recognize April 18, 2023, as La Salle County Day 14 at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting 15 delegation.

Guillen

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1143 was adopted by the House on April 18, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House