H.R. No. 1158

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Representatives of Baylor University are gathering
 in Austin on April 18, 2023, for Baylor Day at the State Capitol;
 and

WHEREAS, Baylor University was established February 1, 1845, by an act of the Congress of the Republic of Texas; it is the oldest continuously operating university in the state; and

7 WHEREAS, This private Christian university provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 20,700 students; it 8 offers 127 undergraduate degrees, 80 master's degrees, 47 doctoral 9 degrees, and a juris doctor degree in addition to a wide array of 10 11 preprofessional tracks and specialized academic opportunities; the 12 university is classified as a "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity" or "Research 1" institution by the Carnegie 13 14 Commission on Higher Education; and

WHEREAS, Baylor University is also home to a variety of 15 16 exceptional athletic programs, with more than 500 student-athletes participating in 19 sports; Baylor's teams compete at the highest 17 level and consistently rank among the Big 12's and the nation's 18 best; the university has claimed numerous individual championships 19 20 and 13 team national championships, and in 2022, the acrobatics and 21 tumbling team won its seventh consecutive NCATA national title; and 22 WHEREAS, The school's outstanding academic and athletic

23 programs, combined with a faculty dedicated to teaching,
24 scholarship, and research, have served to create an institution

1

H.R. No. 1158
1 with an international reputation for educational excellence, and it
2 is indeed a pleasure to join in recognizing Baylor University for
3 its myriad achievements; now, therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 5 Legislature hereby recognize April 18, 2023, as Baylor Day at the 6 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best 7 wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Anderson

H.R. No. 1158

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1158 was adopted by the House on April 18, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House