H.R. No. 1227

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Southern University cheerleading team 2 realized a historic milestone by being crowned champions at the 3 2023 National Cheerleaders Association & National Dance Alliance 4 College Nationals; and

5 WHEREAS, Joining other top squads from throughout the country 6 in Daytona Beach, Florida, from April 5 through 9, the Tigers 7 delivered an exceptional performance; competing in the Cheer Spirit 8 Rally Division I category, TSU held first place after the 9 preliminary round and went on to triumph in the final round with a 10 total event score of 95.5875, outdistancing its nearest competitor 11 by a margin of nearly 11 points; and

WHEREAS, The win was all the more significant because the Tigers are the first team from a Historically Black College and University to claim a national title at the cheerleading championships, and their success is sure to inspire countless young performers across the nation; and

WHEREAS, The TSU cheerleaders benefit from the able leadership of head coach Shontrese Comeaux, who has made success at nationals a priority for the team; under her guidance, the Tigers have devoted themselves to building their skills and refining their routines, with valuable contributions being made by each member of the roster; and

23 WHEREAS, Winning a national championship represents the 24 culmination of countless hours of training and an unwavering

1

1 commitment to excellence, and the Texas Southern cheerleaders are a
2 source of great pride to the entire university community; now,
3 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Southern University cheerleading team on winning the Cheer Spirit Rally Division I championship at the 2023 NCA & NDA College Nationals and extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the Tigers as an expression of high regard by the Texas 12 House of Representatives.

J. Johnson of Harris

H.R. No. 1227

2

H.R. No. 1227

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 1227

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1227 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House